Scars Like Wings by Erin Stewart audiobook

Scars Like Wings

By Erin Stewart
Read by Emma Galvin

Simon & Schuster Audio UK 9781984848826
8.72 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Not Available For Sale in us

    ISBN: 9781471193743

Everyone has scars. Some are just easier to see ... 16-year-old Ava Lee is heading back to school one year after a house fire left her severely disfigured. She’s used to the names, the stares, the discomfort, but there’s one name she hates most of all: Survivor. What do you call someone who didn’t mean to survive? Who sometimes wishes she hadn’t? When she meets a fellow survivor named Piper at therapy, Ava begins to feel like she’s not facing the nightmare alone. Piper helps Ava reclaim the pieces of Ava Before the Fire, a normal girl who kissed boys and sang on stage. But Piper is fighting her own battle, and when Ava almost loses her best friend, she must decide if the new normal she’s chasing has more to do with the girl in the mirror — or the people by her side.  The beautiful, life-affirming debut from Erin Stewart that's being called the YA answer to Wonder. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, Nicola Yoon and John Green. “A heartfelt and unflinching look at the reality of being a burn survivor and at the scars we all carry. This book is for everyone, burned or not, who has ever searched for a light in the darkness.” – Stephanie Nielson, New York Times bestselling author of HEAVEN IS HERE and a burn survivor "A gripping story, which examines what it means to survive." - i newspaper

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Everyone has scars. Some are just easier to see ...

16-year-old Ava Lee is heading back to school one year after a house fire left her severely disfigured. She’s used to the names, the stares, the discomfort, but there’s one name she hates most of all: Survivor. What do you call someone who didn’t mean to survive? Who sometimes wishes she hadn’t?

When she meets a fellow survivor named Piper at therapy, Ava begins to feel like she’s not facing the nightmare alone. Piper helps Ava reclaim the pieces of Ava Before the Fire, a normal girl who kissed boys and sang on stage. But Piper is fighting her own battle, and when Ava almost loses her best friend, she must decide if the new normal she’s chasing has more to do with the girl in the mirror — or the people by her side. 

The beautiful, life-affirming debut from Erin Stewart that's being called the YA answer to Wonder. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, Nicola Yoon and John Green.

“A heartfelt and unflinching look at the reality of being a burn survivor and at the scars we all carry. This book is for everyone, burned or not, who has ever searched for a light in the darkness.” – Stephanie Nielson, New York Times bestselling author of HEAVEN IS HERE and a burn survivor

"A gripping story, which examines what it means to survive." - i newspaper

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Erin Stewart

Author Bio: Erin Stewart ERIN STEWART grew up in the woods of Virginia catching fireflies and creating her first characters as imaginary friends. She now makes her home in the shadow of the Rocky Mountains with her husband and her three children. Erin loves using her background in journalism to research and write fiction that feels a lot like real life. A heart failure survivor and adoptive mother, she believes life throws plot twists and people in our path for a reason—always. SCARS LIKE WINGS is her debut novel. Follow @Erin_N_Stewart on Twitter.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Coming-of-Age
Runtime: 8.72
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English