Secret Remains by Jennifer Graeser Dornbush audiobook

Secret Remains: A Coroner’s Daughter Mystery

By Jennifer Graeser Dornbush
Read by Sophie Amoss

Blackstone Publishing 9781643851228

The Coroner's Daughter Mysteries: Book 2

9.83 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $11.97

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781094007526

  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781094007533

  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $17.48

    ISBN: 9781094007502

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $14.98

    ISBN: 9781094007519

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

A cold-case murder, a grisly discovery, and a viper’s nest of resentment, betrayal, and dirty secrets converge in this mystery perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs and Jayne Ann Krentz. It’s been twelve years since Sandi Parkman went missing after being dropped off at home by her schoolmate, Nick Larson, now the Sheriff of Freeport, Michigan. When a construction crew unearths Sandi’s bones—along with Nick’s letterman jacket and one of his hairs—Nick becomes suspect number one in the murder. Dr. Emily Hartford, the daughter of Freeport’s medical examiner, is called in to investigate, but the case is about to get personal. Nick was Emily’s high school love, and now she has to either clear his name—or contend that he’s the killer. As she delves into the case, a host of other suspects emerge: a coterie of Nick’s jock friends from high school; Sandi’s sister, Tiffani, now a dancer at a local strip club; and James VanDerMuellen, a trust funder who recently returned to Freeport. As the autumn skies darken over Freeport and the holiday season looms, Emily must sift through more than Sandi’s brittle bones to solve the case. Can she exonerate Nick—and rekindle their long-smoldering romance? The race is on to find the truth.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A cold-case murder, a grisly discovery, and a viper’s nest of resentment, betrayal, and dirty secrets converge in this mystery perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs and Jayne Ann Krentz.

It’s been twelve years since Sandi Parkman went missing after being dropped off at home by her schoolmate, Nick Larson, now the Sheriff of Freeport, Michigan. When a construction crew unearths Sandi’s bones—along with Nick’s letterman jacket and one of his hairs—Nick becomes suspect number one in the murder.

Dr. Emily Hartford, the daughter of Freeport’s medical examiner, is called in to investigate, but the case is about to get personal. Nick was Emily’s high school love, and now she has to either clear his name—or contend that he’s the killer. As she delves into the case, a host of other suspects emerge: a coterie of Nick’s jock friends from high school; Sandi’s sister, Tiffani, now a dancer at a local strip club; and James VanDerMuellen, a trust funder who recently returned to Freeport.

As the autumn skies darken over Freeport and the holiday season looms, Emily must sift through more than Sandi’s brittle bones to solve the case. Can she exonerate Nick—and rekindle their long-smoldering romance? The race is on to find the truth.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Dornbush has artfully woven a great page-turner. Smartly written, artfully crafted—put this one at the top of your reading list!” Catherine Finger, award-winning author of the Jo Olive thrillers

Reviews

Reviews

by Odin 11/13/2020
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

A different kind of mystery

Here is a piece of original mystery writing that is given a engrossing reading by Sophie Amoss. As in a previous book, Dr. Emily Hartford is pressed into her coroner duties while also dealing with domestic issues. Having returned to her father’s home where he had suffered a heart attack, a construction crew digs up a skeleton and engages her services. Her work cites the sheriff of Freeport as a suspect. His being a long-time friend makes her suspicions all the more critical. The following chapters builds further credibility for this fine author and creates an impatience for the next book to come out. Recommended.

Author

Author Bio: Jennifer Graeser Dornbush

Author Bio: Jennifer Graeser Dornbush

Jennifer Graeser Dornbush is the daughter of a medical examiner, who has had decades of on-site experience in death investigation and 360 hours of forensic training through the Forensic Science Academy. She uses these experiences to pen crime fiction for film and television. A member of Sisters in Crime, she hosts webinars on crime writing through Writer’s Digest.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 9.83
Audience: Adult
Language: English