Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea by Lynne Rae Perkins audiobook

Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea

By Lynne Rae Perkins
Read by Brittany Pressley

Greenwillow Books 9780062499660
3.21 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $15.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062841391

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $22.99

    ISBN: 9781538500651

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538500644

Newbery Medalist Lynne Rae Perkins introduces two irresistible sisters—Alix and Jools—and takes readers on an unforgettable vacation to the beach. This is a joyful celebration of sisters, family, friendship, and the ocean. The Wall Street Journal said, “Ocean meets sky meets two young girls in Lynne Rae Perkins’s affectionate chapter book. A sunny summer story.” For fans of Kate DiCamillo and Rebecca Stead. Alix and her older sister, Jools, have never been to the ocean. When their parents pack them up to spend a week by the shore, Alix is nervous about leaving home—but excited, too. At the beach, the sisters make friends, go exploring, and have adventures big and small. To Alix’s surprise, as the week comes to an end, she finds she doesn’t want to leave! Each chapter contains its own miniature discovery—from picking periwinkles, meeting a crab, and making sandcastles, to exploring the nearby town. Award-winning author Lynne Rae Perkins has beautifully crafted a genuine and engaging novel about sisters, family, and exploration. A great read-aloud, as well as a good choice for newly independent readers. Booklist said, “Ordinary pleasures, in the hands of a writer so skilled, are elevated.”

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

Newbery Medalist Lynne Rae Perkins introduces two irresistible sisters—Alix and Jools—and takes readers on an unforgettable vacation to the beach.

This is a joyful celebration of sisters, family, friendship, and the ocean. The Wall Street Journal said, “Ocean meets sky meets two young girls in Lynne Rae Perkins’s affectionate chapter book. A sunny summer story.” For fans of Kate DiCamillo and Rebecca Stead.

Alix and her older sister, Jools, have never been to the ocean. When their parents pack them up to spend a week by the shore, Alix is nervous about leaving home—but excited, too. At the beach, the sisters make friends, go exploring, and have adventures big and small. To Alix’s surprise, as the week comes to an end, she finds she doesn’t want to leave!

Each chapter contains its own miniature discovery—from picking periwinkles, meeting a crab, and making sandcastles, to exploring the nearby town. Award-winning author Lynne Rae Perkins has beautifully crafted a genuine and engaging novel about sisters, family, and exploration.

A great read-aloud, as well as a good choice for newly independent readers. Booklist said, “Ordinary pleasures, in the hands of a writer so skilled, are elevated.”

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Narrator Brittany Pressley captures each sister’s personality perfectly….[and] voices each of the girls with spunk, inquisitiveness, and love. The way Pressley speaks makes listeners feel that they are being pulled through the story by a warm ocean breeze. This wonderful light summer read will leave listeners with a happy feeling. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“Ocean meets sky meets two young girls in Lynne Rae Perkins’ affectionate chapter book…The girls experience days filled with quiet, quirky wonders: sand castles and ocean currents, edible snails and giant beetles, injured raptors and mint-eating raccoons….[a] sunny summer story.” Wall Street Journal
“Perkins vividly captures the world through a child’s eyes…Perkins draws on all five senses to evoke nature’s beauty and show the ebb and flow of Alix’s emotions as she eagerly explores new territory.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“A gentle wonder suffuses the story, focusing on the kid perspective of the small but significant parts of a summer trip…The prose has a pleasing accessibility, and although there’s a clear arc, any of the eight chapters could easily be read aloud as a stand-alone.” Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)
“A story as relaxed and shiny as a summer’s day…Ordinary pleasures, in the hands of a writer so skilled, are elevated.” Booklist (starred review)
“Told in a light, breezy style with rich but accessible language and touches of humor…A great choice for young readers ready for longer fiction.” School Library Journal
“Perkins proves experiences do not have to be extraordinary to be life-changing as she insightfully describes Alix’s and Jools’ savoring the sights, smells, sounds, and simple pleasures of the ocean, perfectly captured in comfortable prose…Gentle, satisfying family-oriented fare for pre-vacation reading.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lynne Rae Perkins

Author Bio: Lynne Rae Perkins

Lynne Rae Perkins was awarded the Newbery Medal for her young adult novel Criss Cross. She is also the author of All Alone in the Universe, the award-winning companion to Criss Cross. An artist as well as a writer, Perkins has published several acclaimed picture books, including The Broken CatSnow MusicPictures from Our Vacation, and The Cardboard Piano. She lives with her family in northern Michigan.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 3.21
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English