Shadow Child by Rahna Reiko Rizzuto audiobook

Shadow Child

By Rahna Reiko Rizzuto
Read by Christine Lakin

Grand Central Publishing, Hachette Book Group 9781538711453
13.47 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781549168673

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • Regular Price: $40.00

    Special Price $26.00

    ISBN: 9781549199424

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

For fans of Tayari Jones and Ruth Ozeki, from National Book Critics Circle Award finalist Rizzuto comes a haunting and suspenseful literary tale set in 1970s New York City and World War II-era Japan, about three strong women, the dangerous ties of family and identity, and the long shadow our histories can cast. Twin sisters Hana and Kei grew up in a tiny Hawaiian town in the 1950s and 1960s, so close they shared the same nickname. Raised in dreamlike isolation by their loving but unstable mother, they were fatherless, mixed-race, and utterly inseparable, devoted to one another. But when their cherished threesome with Mama is broken and then further shattered by a violent, nearly fatal betrayal that neither young woman can forgive, it seems their bond may be severed forever—until, six years later, Kei arrives on Hana’s lonely Manhattan doorstep with a secret that will change everything. Told in interwoven narratives that glide seamlessly between the gritty streets of New York, the lush and dangerous landscape of Hawaii, and the horrors of the Japanese internment camps and the bombing of Hiroshima, Shadow Child is set against an epic sweep of history. Volcanos, tsunamis, abandonment, racism, and war form the urgent, unforgettable backdrop of this intimate, evocative, and deeply moving story of motherhood, sisterhood, and second chances.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For fans of Tayari Jones and Ruth Ozeki, from National Book Critics Circle Award finalist Rizzuto comes a haunting and suspenseful literary tale set in 1970s New York City and World War II-era Japan, about three strong women, the dangerous ties of family and identity, and the long shadow our histories can cast.

Twin sisters Hana and Kei grew up in a tiny Hawaiian town in the 1950s and 1960s, so close they shared the same nickname. Raised in dreamlike isolation by their loving but unstable mother, they were fatherless, mixed-race, and utterly inseparable, devoted to one another. But when their cherished threesome with Mama is broken and then further shattered by a violent, nearly fatal betrayal that neither young woman can forgive, it seems their bond may be severed forever—until, six years later, Kei arrives on Hana’s lonely Manhattan doorstep with a secret that will change everything.

Told in interwoven narratives that glide seamlessly between the gritty streets of New York, the lush and dangerous landscape of Hawaii, and the horrors of the Japanese internment camps and the bombing of Hiroshima, Shadow Child is set against an epic sweep of history.

Volcanos, tsunamis, abandonment, racism, and war form the urgent, unforgettable backdrop of this intimate, evocative, and deeply moving story of motherhood, sisterhood, and second chances.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Narrator Christine Lakin draws listeners into this family drama…Her narration is full of feelings that reflect the precarious nature of immigrant identity in the 1940s. The contemporary themes in this story further engage listeners with the hardships of Lillie, the twins’ mother. Lakin is a talented performer whose versatility allows her to portray grandmothers and children with equal vigor.” AudioFile
"[An] impressive novel with a fierce velocity….The sisters…are vividly realized as they come to terms with their mother, the traumas of what has divided them, and a generation of mysteries.” National Book Review
“Blends historical fiction and mystery into a haunting examination of identity and family in this perfect book club choice.” Library Journal (starred review)
“Gripping…Bolstered by its convincing historical detail and its satisfying characters…Rizzuto’s ruminative portrait of a ravaged family on the precipice of forgiveness leaves a lasting impression.” Publishers Weekly
“Rahna Reiko Rizzuto probes, with great compassion, the heart-wrenching complexities of identity, memory, history, and survival.” Ruth Ozeki, author of A Tale for the Time Being
“A beautifully woven historical saga wrapped in a page-turning mystery, Shadow Child explores time, memory, and identity…This is a stunning story of sisterhood and survival, of healing and forgiveness, and how we find our true selves in each other.” Hannah Tinti, author of The Good Thief
“A beautiful, unafraid novel, a story of how history shapes and fractures identity in family…Part historical, part mystery, part family love story that is on every page masterfully wrought.” Victoria Redel, author of Before Everything

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Rahna Reiko Rizzuto

Author Bio: Rahna Reiko Rizzuto

Rahna Reiko Rizzuto is the author of several works, including the memoir Hiroshima in the Morning, which was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. Her debut novel, Why She Left Us, won an American Book Award. She was the first woman to graduate from Columbia College with a BA in astrophysics.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 13.47
Audience: Adult
Language: English