Shiva in Steel

By Fred Saberhagen
Read by Edward Lewis

The Berserker Series: Book 11

9.20 Hours 02/01/2001 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $15.96

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781455177363

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781482114669

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781470889920

In a sector of the Galaxy occupied by Earth-descended people, one Berserker computer has suddenly and mysteriously developed a tactical strategy unlike anything the human opposition has seen before. Shiva, like the Hindu god of destruction after which it was named, annihilates entire colonies with the help of its fiendish subordinates. Commander Claire Normandy struggles to prepare for Shiva’s attacks, while Pilot Harry Silver realizes that he must deal with his own demons in order to help her. When a decision is made to destroy the destroyer, neither side is prepared for the incredible risks that emerge as the attack becomes imminent. Can either side face the possibility that something wholly unexpected and eerily familiar lies gnarled within the steel?

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

In a sector of the Galaxy occupied by Earth-descended people, one Berserker computer has suddenly and mysteriously developed a tactical strategy unlike anything the human opposition has seen before. Shiva, like the Hindu god of destruction after which it was named, annihilates entire colonies with the help of its fiendish subordinates.

Commander Claire Normandy struggles to prepare for Shiva’s attacks, while Pilot Harry Silver realizes that he must deal with his own demons in order to help her. When a decision is made to destroy the destroyer, neither side is prepared for the incredible risks that emerge as the attack becomes imminent. Can either side face the possibility that something wholly unexpected and eerily familiar lies gnarled within the steel?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The berserkers, in their single-minded pursuit of their preprogrammed course of destruction, attain a kind of perverse stature that makes them worthy stand-ins for the dark side of human nature.” New York Times
“The berserker stories are war stories but war stories in the tradition of The Red Badge of Courage or All Quiet on the Western Front.” Baltimore Evening Sun
“In this Berserker book, Saberhagen returns to all of the things that have made his series such a mainstay in science fiction.” Amazon.com, editorial review
“This fast-paced sf military adventure belongs in most sf collections.” Library Journal
“The fast action, the plethora of well-conceived hardware, and deft bits of characterization all go to show that, in the hands of an old pro, even the most shopworn ideas make for fine reading.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Fred Saberhagen

Fred Thomas Saberhagen (1930–2007), a native of Chicago, served with the US Air Force then worked as an electronics technician and as a science writer and editor for the Encyclopaedia Britannica. He began writing science fiction for Galaxy in 1961. His first novel, The Golden People, was published in 1964. He is most renowned for the Berserker series of stories and novels.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD
Category: Fiction/Science Fiction
Runtime: 9.20
Audience: Adult
Language: English