Sins of Our Fathers by Shawn Lawrence Otto audiobook

Sins of Our Fathers: A Novel

By Shawn Lawrence Otto
Read by Jim Meskimen

Blackstone Publishing, Blackstone Publishing 9781571311092
10.58 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $15.96

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781481518116

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781481518093

  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $22.72

    ISBN: 9781481518147

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

From the screenwriter of the Oscar-nominated House of Sand and Fog comes a fierce,elegant page-turner about race, money, and the American Dream. JW is a small-town banker; his specialty, teaching otherbankers in towns near Indian reservations how to profit from casino depositswithout exposing themselves to risk; his problem, he lost his son in a caraccident a year ago, he’s depressed, his wife is leaving him, and he can’t stopgambling. When he is caught embezzling funds to support his addiction,JW’s boss offers him a choice: he can either accept responsibility and go toprison or use his talents to sabotage a competing Native American banker namedJohnny Eagle. With the clock ticking, JW moves into a trailer on thereservation within sight of his prey. But as he befriends Eagle and his son, JWfinds that his plan to reclaim his freedom will be more dangerous than he evercould have imagined.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize

A Publishers Weekly Pick of the Week for November, 2014 

From the screenwriter of the Oscar-nominated House of Sand and Fog comes a fierce,elegant page-turner about race, money, and the American Dream.

JW is a small-town banker; his specialty, teaching otherbankers in towns near Indian reservations how to profit from casino depositswithout exposing themselves to risk; his problem, he lost his son in a caraccident a year ago, he’s depressed, his wife is leaving him, and he can’t stopgambling.

When he is caught embezzling funds to support his addiction,JW’s boss offers him a choice: he can either accept responsibility and go toprison or use his talents to sabotage a competing Native American banker namedJohnny Eagle. With the clock ticking, JW moves into a trailer on thereservation within sight of his prey. But as he befriends Eagle and his son, JWfinds that his plan to reclaim his freedom will be more dangerous than he evercould have imagined.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This stylish novel…resolves in a rousing and satisfying climax. Otto’s wonderfully vivid debut narrative is reminiscent of well-known crime novelist William Kent Kreuger.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“An excellent debut literary thriller. Fans of Larry Watson and Louise Erdrich will enjoy the intricate plot, well-developed characters, and readers who are interested in mysteries with a Minnesota setting will want to try this edgy page-turner.” Library Journal
“Believable characters and a strong sense of place mark this tale of risk and redemption.” Booklist
“While JW’s story can stand on its own, Jim Meskimen’s crisp and forceful narration makes it especially engaging. His powerful voice works well for the dialogue. With emotions flying, Meskimen’s narration makes this a book listeners will be talking about long after they’re done listening.” AudioFile
“In Sins of Our Fathers, screenwriter turned novelist Shawn Lawrence Otto has pushed his perfectly crafted characters to their limits. The result is a literary tour de force and a psychological thriller that hooked me from the first page and carried me through to its stunning conclusion.” Joel Surnow, creator of 24
“Excellent writing and dynamic characters make this novel a page turner that stands above the rest.” Robert Alexander, author of The Kitchen Boy

Reviews

Reviews

by Odin 5/26/2020
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

Slow start, good finish

After a laborious 23 pages of bank-seminar-instruction, the story finally gets started. Such a long discourse on banking regulations and practices re: loan ethics and procedures, could have been edited considerably. Once past this, however, the book unfolds with inordinate honesty portraying conscience, mistakes, both adult and adolescent, as well as an adult exploration of bigotry, American Indian distrust of Anglos, and finally a through line of narrative storytelling that is both compelling and never predictable. All in all, and excellent book narrated by Jim Meskimen with voicing that vibrates throughout with the vulnerability of true heroes. Well worth listening to.

Author

Author Bio: Shawn Lawrence Otto

Author Bio: Shawn Lawrence Otto

Shawn Lawrence Otto is the screenwriter and coproducer of the Oscar-nominated film House of Sand and Fog. He also writes for such top studios as DreamWorks and Lions Gate. His nonfiction has appeared in Rolling Stone, Science, and Salon, among other publications. He lives in Minneapolis.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 10.58
Audience: Adult
Language: English