Sorry for Your Loss by Jessie Ann Foley audiobook

Sorry for Your Loss

By Jessie Ann Foley
Read by Ron Butler

Quill Tree Books, HarperCollins 9780062571915
7.73 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062914064

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $29.99

    ISBN: 9781982661229

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982661236

From Printz Honor winner and Morris Award finalist Jessie Ann Foley comes a comitragic YA novel that will appeal to fans of Jandy Nelson and Jeff Zentner. As the youngest of eight, painfully average Pup Flanagan is used to flying under the radar. He’s barely passing his classes. His lets his longtime crush walk all over him. And he’s in no hurry to decide on a college path. The only person who ever made him think he could be more was his older brother Patrick. But that was before Patrick died suddenly, leaving Pup with a family who won’t talk about it and acquaintances who just keep saying, “sorry for your loss.” When Pup excels at a photography assignment he thought he’d bomb, things start to come into focus. His dream girl shows her true colors. An unexpected friend exposes Pup to a whole new world, right under his nose. And the photograph that was supposed to show Pup a way out of his grief ultimately reveals someone else who is still stuck in their own. Someone with a secret regret Pup never could have imagined.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

From Printz Honor winner and Morris Award finalist Jessie Ann Foley comes a comitragic YA novel that will appeal to fans of Jandy Nelson and Jeff Zentner.

As the youngest of eight, painfully average Pup Flanagan is used to flying under the radar. He’s barely passing his classes. His lets his longtime crush walk all over him. And he’s in no hurry to decide on a college path.

The only person who ever made him think he could be more was his older brother Patrick. But that was before Patrick died suddenly, leaving Pup with a family who won’t talk about it and acquaintances who just keep saying, “sorry for your loss.”

When Pup excels at a photography assignment he thought he’d bomb, things start to come into focus. His dream girl shows her true colors. An unexpected friend exposes Pup to a whole new world, right under his nose.

And the photograph that was supposed to show Pup a way out of his grief ultimately reveals someone else who is still stuck in their own. Someone with a secret regret Pup never could have imagined.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Foley takes readers through Pup’s tenderhearted and sometimes painfully funny third-person observations…A warm and clear-eyed examination of a family swimming through grief and a boy who finds the light.” Booklist (starred review)
“Narrator Ron Butler has a challenging task in describing Pup Flanagan’s large family. Sixteen-year-old Pup is the youngest of five ‘sister-mothers’ and Luke, an angry, alcoholic brother. Butler manages to distinguish all of them, their overwhelming collective presence, and the unexpressed grief that lingers after the death of Patrick, the oldest…A poignant, believable portrait of grief. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“Written with Foley’s keen ear for family dynamics, this is definitely a strong choice for fans of her work and those new to the author.” School Library Journal
“Foley deftly paints a portrait exploring the different ways that grief and loss affect the members of a loving yet broken Chicagoan family who are finding their ways back to each other with the help of their youngest, most underrated member…An introspective novel about the healing power of art with light touches of tears, laughter, and romance.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jessie Ann Foley

Author Bio: Jessie Ann Foley

Jessie Ann Foley is a teacher who writes fiction for young adults. Her debut novel, The Carnivalat Bray, was a Printz Honor winner, a William C. Morris Debut Award finalist, a YALSA Top Ten Fiction for Young Adults title, and a Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book. Neighborhood Girls is her second novel. To learn more about Jessie, visit her online at www.jessieannfoley.com.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 7.73
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English