Spirit Sickness: An Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed Mystery

By Kirk Mitchell
Directed by Emily Janice Card
Read by Stefan Rudnicki

The Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed Mysteries: Book 2

12.00 Hours 03/26/2009 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $22.95

    Special Price $18.36

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781455195107

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781482118834

  • $32.95

    ISBN: 9781433295942

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781433295959

In the tradition of Tony Hillerman and Joseph Wambaugh comes Kirk Mitchell’s latest suspense thriller, which reunites Bureau of Indian Affairs Criminal Investigator Emmett Quanah Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed, two Native American cops torn between their heritage and the law. A fire-gutted police cruiser found in a remote part of the Navajo reservation bears the bodies of a tribal patrolman and his wife. Parker and Turnipseed know a cop’s murder is never simple, raising countless questions and suspicions. When another murder is discovered, the case explodes into an otherworldly realm. Both Parker, a Comanche, and Turnipseed, a Modoc, are well acquainted with the eerie shadow land between native myth and modern homicide investigation. Now they will have to touch minds with a murderer who has woven personal madness with Navajo myth to create his own reality—and with it, the need to kill and kill again.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

In the tradition of Tony Hillerman and Joseph Wambaugh comes Kirk Mitchell’s latest suspense thriller, which reunites Bureau of Indian Affairs Criminal Investigator Emmett Quanah Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed, two Native American cops torn between their heritage and the law.

A fire-gutted police cruiser found in a remote part of the Navajo reservation bears the bodies of a tribal patrolman and his wife. Parker and Turnipseed know a cop’s murder is never simple, raising countless questions and suspicions. When another murder is discovered, the case explodes into an otherworldly realm.

Both Parker, a Comanche, and Turnipseed, a Modoc, are well acquainted with the eerie shadow land between native myth and modern homicide investigation. Now they will have to touch minds with a murderer who has woven personal madness with Navajo myth to create his own reality—and with it, the need to kill and kill again.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Intriguing…Mitchell makes the most of Navajo mythology and the landscape of the Southwest.” Chicago Tribune
“Darker, grittier, and more satisfying than Hillerman’s work…Spirit Sickness reads fast, runs true, and keeps you guessing.” Albuquerque Weekly Alibi
“Mitchell pulls out all the stops…Mitchell [is] a powerful writer of deep emotions, breathtaking natural beauty, and nail-biting suspense.” Publishers Weekly
“A high-octane thriller in the Thomas Harris mold…The climactic scene…will leave readers gasping for breath.” Booklist
“Fans of Tony Hillerman and the Thurlos will want to read Spirit Sickness, a thriller that captures the identity of the Navajo Nation. Kirk Mitchell is a talented storyteller.” Midwest Book Review 
“A tough, hard-hitting story…a winner.” I Love a Mystery 

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Kirk Mitchell

Kirk Mitchell served as a deputy sheriff on the Paiute-Shoshone Indian reservations of the desert country that includes Death Valley, and was a SWAT sergeant in Southern California before beginning his career as a full-time writer. This Edgar Award–nominated author lives in the Sierra Nevada of California.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 12.00
Audience: Adult
Language: English