Stalking Susan by Julie Kramer audiobook

Stalking Susan

By Julie Kramer
Read by Bernadette Dunne

Random House Audio

The Riley Spartz Series: Book 1

9.30 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781415949115

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Inside the desperate world of TV ratings, an investigative reporter discovers that a serial killer is targeting women named Susan and killing one on the same day each year. Television reporter Riley Spartz is recovering from a heartbreaking, headline-making catastrophe of her own when a longtime police source drops two homicide files in her lap in the back of a dark movie theater. Both cold cases involve women named Susan strangled on the same day, one year apart. Last seen alive in one of Minneapolis’s poorest neighborhoods, their bodies are each dumped in one of the city’s wealthiest areas. Riley senses a pattern between those murders and others pulled from a computer database of old death records. She must broadcast a warning soon, especially to viewers named Susan, because the deadly anniversary is approaching. But not just lives are at stake— so are careers. November is television sweeps month, and every rating point counts at Channel 3. Riley must go up against a news director who cares more about dead dogs than dead women, a politician who fears negative stories about serial killers will hurt the city’s convention business, and the very real possibility that her source knows more about the murders than he is letting on. When Riley suspects the killer has moved personal items from one victim to the next as part of an elaborate ritual, she stages a bold on-air stunt to draw him out and uncovers a motive that will leave readers breathless.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A 2009 Mary Higgins Clark Award Finalist

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

A 2009 Barry Award Finalist for Best First Novel

A 2009 Anthony Award Finalist for Best First Novel

A 2009 Shamus Award Nominee for Best First Novel

Inside the desperate world of TV ratings, an investigative reporter discovers that a serial killer is targeting women named Susan and killing one on the same day each year. Television reporter Riley Spartz is recovering from a heartbreaking, headline-making catastrophe of her own when a longtime police source drops two homicide files in her lap in the back of a dark movie theater. Both cold cases involve women named Susan strangled on the same day, one year apart. Last seen alive in one of Minneapolis’s poorest neighborhoods, their bodies are each dumped in one of the city’s wealthiest areas. Riley senses a pattern between those murders and others pulled from a computer database of old death records. She must broadcast a warning soon, especially to viewers named Susan, because the deadly anniversary is approaching. But not just lives are at stake— so are careers. November is television sweeps month, and every rating point counts at Channel 3. Riley must go up against a news director who cares more about dead dogs than dead women, a politician who fears negative stories about serial killers will hurt the city’s convention business, and the very real possibility that her source knows more about the murders than he is letting on. When Riley suspects the killer has moved personal items from one victim to the next as part of an elaborate ritual, she stages a bold on-air stunt to draw him out and uncovers a motive that will leave readers breathless.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A snappily paced debut thriller…Truly scary no matter what your name is.” People
“Dazzling…Readers who enjoy Janet Evanovich will soon be stalking Julie Kramer.” Chicago Tribune
“This is a fast-paced and nicely characterized debut that will appeal to fans of Linda Fairstein and Laura Lippman.” Library Journal
“Riley Spartz is a classic spunky investigator. She’ll have readers cheering for her gutsy determination to stop the killings and boost her ratings.” USA Today
“[A] lively and fast-paced debut…Kramer writes with heart and pizzazz, and her believable heroine makes the well-worn concept feel fresh. [Her] past as a TV producer lends authority to an entertaining story.” Kirkus Reviews
“[An] impressive debut…Readers will look forward to seeing a lot more of the appealing Riley.” Publishers Weekly
Dazzling…. Readers who enjoy Janet Evanovich will soon be stalking Julie Kramer. Chicago Tribune“A rocking good story…. Chilling, twisty, and clever.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Julie Kramer

Author Bio: Julie Kramer

Julie Kramer writes thrillers set in the desperate world of television news. A former news producer for NBC, CBS, and WCCO-TV, she’s won the Minnesota Book Award and the RT Book Reviewer’s Best First Mystery. She has also been a finalist for the Anthony, Barry, Shamus, Mary Higgins Clark, and Daphne du Maurier Awards. She lives with her family in Minnesota.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Runtime: 9.30
Audience: Adult
Language: English