Strays by Britt Collins audiobook

Strays: A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America

By Britt Collins
Foreword by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson
Read by George Newbern

Blackstone Publishing 9781501122590
6.74 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781538433539

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781538433546

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781538433515

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781538433522

For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other. Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay on the wrong side of the tracks in Portland, Oregon. One rainy night, he stumbles upon a hurt, starving, scruffy cat and takes her in. Nursing her back to health, he names her Tabor, and she becomes a bit of a celebrity in southeast Portland. When winter comes, they travel from Oregon to the beaches of California and to the high plains of Montana, surviving blizzards and bears, angry steers and rainstorms. Along the way, people are drawn to the spirited, beautiful cat and moved to help Michael, who cuts a striking figure with Tabor riding high on his backpack or walking on a leash. Tabor comforts Michael when he’s down, giving Michael someone to love and care for, and inspiring him to get sober and to come to terms with his past family traumas and grief over the death of his life partner. As they make their way across the West Coast, the pair become inseparable, healing the scars of each other’s troubled pasts. But when Michael takes Tabor to a veterinarian in Montana, he discovers that Tabor has an identification chip and an owner in Portland who has never given up hope of finding his beloved cat. Michael makes the difficult choice to return to Portland and reunite Tabor with her owner. Now Michael must create a new purpose in his life after Tabor. The authentic tale of an adventurous and charismatic cat and her compassionate human admirers, Strays proves the healing power of love and the profound bond between humans and animals.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Bustle Pick of Best Nonfiction Reads

For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other.

Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay on the wrong side of the tracks in Portland, Oregon. One rainy night, he stumbles upon a hurt, starving, scruffy cat and takes her in. Nursing her back to health, he names her Tabor, and she becomes a bit of a celebrity in southeast Portland. When winter comes, they travel from Oregon to the beaches of California and to the high plains of Montana, surviving blizzards and bears, angry steers and rainstorms. Along the way, people are drawn to the spirited, beautiful cat and moved to help Michael, who cuts a striking figure with Tabor riding high on his backpack or walking on a leash. Tabor comforts Michael when he’s down, giving Michael someone to love and care for, and inspiring him to get sober and to come to terms with his past family traumas and grief over the death of his life partner.

As they make their way across the West Coast, the pair become inseparable, healing the scars of each other’s troubled pasts. But when Michael takes Tabor to a veterinarian in Montana, he discovers that Tabor has an identification chip and an owner in Portland who has never given up hope of finding his beloved cat. Michael makes the difficult choice to return to Portland and reunite Tabor with her owner. Now Michael must create a new purpose in his life after Tabor.

The authentic tale of an adventurous and charismatic cat and her compassionate human admirers, Strays proves the healing power of love and the profound bond between humans and animals.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A touching, in-depth look at…a remarkable stray cat and a remarkable down-and-out man who brought each other joy and unexpected adventure.” Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson, New York Times bestsellling author
“A tearjerker of a movie waiting to happen.” Bustle
“An inspirational story about love, loss, redemption and the transformative power of the bond that develops between humans and animals.” Ocala Style magazine (Florida)
“This tender story…is endearing and beautiful. Collins’ astute understanding of the power of companion bonds makes Strays rich with emotion and charmingly satisfying.” Shelf Awareness
“Readers who empathized with the honesty and humility of James Bowen’s A Street Cat Named Bob will be moved by this healing love story.” Library Journal
“Both a heartwarming tale of animals’ ability to transform people and a humanizing depiction of the factors leading to homelessness.” Booklist
“This is the rock ’n’ roll version of a cat book. It got me hooked from the first page.” Shane MacGowan, musician
“Strays…reminds me that the care of an animal really can motivate and make change possible.” Claire Bessant, CEO of International Cat Care
Strays reminds us that there is no such thing as a small or insignificant life and that every life has intrinsic value.” Francis Battista, cofounder of Best Friends Animal Society
Strays held me captive, eager, and anxious for little Tabor to find her way back home.” Barbara Bennett, author of Soul of a Lion

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Britt Collins

Author Bio: Britt Collins

Britt Collins is a British journalist and writes for London’s Guardian, Sunday Times, and Independent, as well as Harper’s Bazaar and Condé Nast Traveler. She has been a volunteer at sanctuaries around the world, from tending big cats and baboons in Namibia to wild horses in Nevada. She has raised hundreds of thousands of dollars for many international charities through her investigative stories of animal cruelty and, as an activist, has helped shut down controversial breeders of laboratory animals.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction
Runtime: 6.74
Audience: Adult
Language: English