Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler audiobook

Sweetbitter: A Novel

By Stephanie Danler
Read by Alex McKenna

Random House Audio, Penguin Random House 9781101875940
12.41 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $22.50
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9780399566295

INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER  *  A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan.  Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and ButterTwenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at “the best restaurant in New York City.” Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest Champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships—and love—set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights.  As her appetites sharpen—for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging—Tess is drawn into a darkly alluring love triangle that will prove to be her most exhilarating and painful lesson of all.    Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and purely adrenalized world of the restaurant—conversations interrupted, phrases overheard, and suggestions below the surface. Evoking the infinite possibility of being young in New York with heart-stopping accuracy, Sweetbitter is ultimately about the power of what remains after disillusionment, and the wisdom that comes from experience, sweet and bitter. From the Hardcover edition.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times Bestseller

O Magazine Pick of 25 Books Every Woman Should Read in Her Lifetime

A New York Times Editor’s Choice

A Los Angeles Times Bestseller

A People Pick of the Week

A Time Magazine Pick for the Best Books of 2016 So Far

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

An Amazon Best Book of the Month for May 2016

A May 2016 LibraryReads Pick

INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER  *  A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan.  Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter

Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at “the best restaurant in New York City.” Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest Champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships—and love—set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights.  As her appetites sharpen—for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging—Tess is drawn into a darkly alluring love triangle that will prove to be her most exhilarating and painful lesson of all. 
 
Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and purely adrenalized world of the restaurant—conversations interrupted, phrases overheard, and suggestions below the surface. Evoking the infinite possibility of being young in New York with heart-stopping accuracy, Sweetbitter is ultimately about the power of what remains after disillusionment, and the wisdom that comes from experience, sweet and bitter.


From the Hardcover edition.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Danler’s sexy, astute debut is really a love story about the addictive pull of restaurant life…and nailed it.” People
An unpretentious, truth-dealing novel… about hunger of every variety. Ms. Danler is a sensitive observer… and gifted commenter on many things. Sweetbitter is going to make a lot of people hungry. New York Times
Brilliantly written… Sweetbitter is the Kitchen Confidential of our time. New York Times Book Review
“It’s rare that a book conveys with such unerring precision what it’s like to be young.” Kate Christensen, PEN/Faulkner Award–winning author
… perfectly captures the raw possibility of a young woman’s first year in New York, opening up to a whole new world of wine, food, love and heartbreak. Mackenzie Dawson, New York Post   
...a raw, shucked, pungent, wild love story. Marie Claire 
"Sweetbitter…dresses the bones of a classic coming-of-age story with the lusty flesh and blood of a bawdy early twenty-first-century picaresque.” Elle
“Danler’s ravishing debut is like inhabiting the heady after-midnight hours of a city drunk on its own charms.” O, The Oprah Magazine
“A raw, shucked, pungent, wild love story.” Marie Claire
“Danler evokes Tess’ voice—intimate, confiding, wonderstruck, depressed—with deft skill. This novel is a treat.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“An unpretentious, truth-dealing novel…about hunger of every variety.” New York Times
“A total immersion in what it’s like to be young and hungry.” Boston Globe
“Lush and precise writing about food, drugs, and dives.” New York magazine
“Food and feeling are natural partners; this… is a feast of both. Like her sexual awakening, Tess’s culinary enlightenment is vivid and exquisite.” NPR.org
“Danler…is unafraid to give us a protagonist whose drive can be monstrous.” Newsday
“Narrator Alex McKenna’s husky voice is the perfect match for this coming-of-age story…McKenna’s performance is infused with a magical mix of youth and naïveté, tempered by a toughness earned after a year in the city…McKenna projects a full range of nuanced emotions, augmenting the intimacy of Tess’ journey to self-discovery and her survival in the often brutal restaurant world. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Stephanie Danler

Author Bio: Stephanie Danler

Stephanie Danler is a writer based in Brooklyn, New York. She holds an MFA in creative writing from the New School.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 12.41
Audience: Adult
Language: English