Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan audiobook

Sword and Verse

By Kathy MacMillan
Read by Emily Rankin  and Emily Janice Card

HarperCollins 9780062324610
11.57 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $24.99

    Special Price $12.50

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062467553

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $23.99

    ISBN: 9781504694759

In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley calls "fascinating and unique," debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world-building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner. Raisa was just a child when she was sold into slavery in the kingdom of Qilara. Before she was taken away, her father had been adamant that she learn to read and write. But where she now lives, literacy is a capital offense for all but the nobility. The written language is closely protected, and only the King, Prince, Tutor, and Tutor-in-training are allowed to learn its very highest form. So when she is plucked from her menial labor and selected to replace the last Tutor-in-training who was executed, Raisa knows that betraying any hint of her past could mean death. Keeping her secret guarded is hard enough, but the romance that's been blossoming between her and Prince Mati isn't helping matters. Then Raisa is approached by the Resistance—an underground rebel army—to help liberate the city's slaves. She wants to free her people, but that would mean aiding a war against Mati. As Raisa struggles with what to do, she discovers a secret that the Qilarites have been hiding for centuries—one that, if uncovered, could bring the kingdom to its knees.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley calls "fascinating and unique," debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world-building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner.

Raisa was just a child when she was sold into slavery in the kingdom of Qilara. Before she was taken away, her father had been adamant that she learn to read and write. But where she now lives, literacy is a capital offense for all but the nobility. The written language is closely protected, and only the King, Prince, Tutor, and Tutor-in-training are allowed to learn its very highest form.

So when she is plucked from her menial labor and selected to replace the last Tutor-in-training who was executed, Raisa knows that betraying any hint of her past could mean death.

Keeping her secret guarded is hard enough, but the romance that's been blossoming between her and Prince Mati isn't helping matters. Then Raisa is approached by the Resistance—an underground rebel army—to help liberate the city's slaves. She wants to free her people, but that would mean aiding a war against Mati.

As Raisa struggles with what to do, she discovers a secret that the Qilarites have been hiding for centuries—one that, if uncovered, could bring the kingdom to its knees.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Fans of Megan Whalen Turner will enjoy MacMillan’s debut.” Publishers Weekly
“A thoughtful debut fantasy.” Kirkus Reviews
“A tense, romantic fantasy epic about prejudice, political struggle, and the power of words, Sword and Verse kept me guessing at every turn. Kathy MacMillan is a writer to watch.” R. J. Anderson, Andre Norton Award–nominated author of Ultraviolet
“I was completely enthralled by the fascinating and unique world. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.” Franny Billingsley, award-winning author of Chime
Sword and Verse is a slow burn, a thoroughly crafted novel in every sense of the word…The instant rush of clandestine romance should kindle one’s attention immediately.” RT Book Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Kathy MacMillan

Author Bio: Kathy MacMillan

Kathy MacMillan is a writer, sign language interpreter, consultant, librarian, and signing storyteller. She holds a master of library science from the University of Maryland, a bachelor of English from the Catholic University of America, and a certificate of American Sign Language Interpreting from the Community College of Baltimore County. She lives in Owings Mills, Maryland, with her husband, son, and a cat named Pancake.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 11.57
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English