The Absinthe Earl by Sharon Lynn Fisher audiobook

The Absinthe Earl

By Sharon Lynn Fisher

Blackstone Publishing 9781982572785

The Faery Rehistory Series: Book 1

Unabridged
Format: Paperback (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $15.99

    Special Price $8.00

    Available on 10/15/2019

    ISBN: 9781982684419

Miss Ada Quicksilver, a student of London’s Lovelace Academy for Promising Young Women, is spending her holiday in Ireland to pursue her anthropological study of fairies. She visits Dublin’s absinthe bars to investigate a supposed association between the bittersweet spirit and fairy sightings. One night a handsome Irishman approaches her, introducing himself as Edward Donoghue. Edward takes absinthe to relieve his sleepwalking, and she is eager to hear whether he has experience with fairies. Instead, she discovers that he’s the earl of Meath, and that he will soon visit a mysterious ruin at Newgrange on the orders of his cousin, the beautiful, half-mad Queen Isolde. On learning about Ada’s area of study, he invites her to accompany him. Ada is torn between a sensible fear of becoming entangled with the clearly troubled gentleman and her compelling desire to ease his suffering. Finally she accepts his invitation, and they arrive in time for the winter solstice. That night, the secret of Edward’s affliction is revealed: he is, in fact, a lord in two worlds and can no longer suppress his shadow self. Little does either of them realize that their blossoming friendship—and slowly kindling passion—will lead to discoveries that wrench open a door sealed for centuries, throwing them into a war that will change Ireland forever.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Miss Ada Quicksilver, a student of London’s Lovelace Academy for Promising Young Women, is spending her holiday in Ireland to pursue her anthropological study of fairies. She visits Dublin’s absinthe bars to investigate a supposed association between the bittersweet spirit and fairy sightings.

One night a handsome Irishman approaches her, introducing himself as Edward Donoghue. Edward takes absinthe to relieve his sleepwalking, and she is eager to hear whether he has experience with fairies. Instead, she discovers that he’s the earl of Meath, and that he will soon visit a mysterious ruin at Newgrange on the orders of his cousin, the beautiful, half-mad Queen Isolde. On learning about Ada’s area of study, he invites her to accompany him.

Ada is torn between a sensible fear of becoming entangled with the clearly troubled gentleman and her compelling desire to ease his suffering. Finally she accepts his invitation, and they arrive in time for the winter solstice. That night, the secret of Edward’s affliction is revealed: he is, in fact, a lord in two worlds and can no longer suppress his shadow self.

Little does either of them realize that their blossoming friendship—and slowly kindling passion—will lead to discoveries that wrench open a door sealed for centuries, throwing them into a war that will change Ireland forever.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Wonderfully written and wonderfully romantic, Sharon Lynn Fisher’s The Absinthe Earl sweeps readers into a powerfully reimagined Victorian Ireland where a strong queen rules and the world of Faery is just a heartbeat away. Young English scholar Ada Quicksilver has come to Ireland to study faery lore. She doesn’t expect to meet a haunted earl who drinks absinthe so that faeries won’t disturb his dreams, nor to find that she has faery ancestry herself. Least of all does she expect to find herself in the middle of a war between her world and an ancient evil that wants to destroy everything she knows—and the man she has come to love.” Mary Jo Putney, New York Times bestselling author
“[A] complex, creative adventure…Fans of Gail Carriger and Leanna Renee Hieber will savor this promising series opener.” Publishers Weekly
“Charming and filled with intriguing characters, dangerous enemies, and hidden desires, The Absinthe Earl hooked me from the start.” Maria V. Snyder, New York Times bestselling author of Poison Study
“Magical and brilliant! The Absinthe Earl is a fast-paced romp that expertly weaves two different worlds into an adventure not to be missed. Sharon Lynn Fisher crafts clever dialogue and creates characters to fall in love with.” Lorraine Heath, bestselling author of the Scoundrels of St. James series
“Danger, intrigue, action, and passion—The Absinthe Earl has it all! This bold blend of historical romance, legend, and fantasy takes readers on a thrilling ride through an alternate Ireland that weaves folklore right into the world we know. Original and captivating!” Amanda Bouchet, USA Today bestselling author of the Kingmaker Chronicles

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Sharon Lynn Fisher

Author Bio: Sharon Lynn Fisher

Sharon Lynn Fisher writes stories for the geeky at heart—meaty mash-ups of sci-fi, fantasy, suspense, and romance. She lives where it rains nine months of the year and is mom to two lovely tweens, two huge dogs, two ridiculous goats, an orange cat and orange mare, and a fluctuating number of poultry.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Paperback
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Audience: Adult
Language: English