The Ark by Boyd Morrison audiobook

The Ark: A Novel

By Boyd Morrison
Read by Boyd Gaines

Simon & Schuster Audio

The Tyler Locke Adventures: Book 1

14.24 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $23.95

    Special Price $9.58

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781442305137

In national bestselling author Boyd Morrison’s debut, the unraveling of one of the greatest archeological mysteries from the bible—Noah’s Ark—could threaten civilization itself in this blockbuster hailed by James Rollins as “a stunning thriller.” When brilliant archaeologist Dilara Kenner is contacted by Sam Watson, an old family friend who says that he has crucial information about her missing father, Dilara abandons her Peruvian dig and rushes to Los Angeles to meet him. But at the airport, Sam speaks instead of Noah’s Ark—the artifact her father had long been searching for—and the possible death of billions. Before Sam can explain, he collapses. With his dying breath, he urges Dilara to find Tyler Locke—a man she’s never heard of. Two days later Dilara manages to track down former combat engineer Tyler Locke on an oil rig off Newfoundland. Her helicopter transport goes down well short of the oil rig’s landing pad and Dilara and those aboard nearly drown. No sooner is Dilara safely on the rig than she convinces Tyler the crash was no accident. Tyler agrees to help her uncover the secret behind Noah’s Ark and, more important, her father's disappearance. As the picture begins to come into focus, they realize they have just seven days to find the Ark before its secret is used to wipe out civilization once again. With a chilling premise and a blistering pace, Boyd Morrison combines all the best elements of a blockbuster thriller with an intelligent and fascinating exploration of one of the Old Testament’s great mysteries.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Selected for the May 2010 Indie Next List

In national bestselling author Boyd Morrison’s debut, the unraveling of one of the greatest archeological mysteries from the bible—Noah’s Ark—could threaten civilization itself in this blockbuster hailed by James Rollins as “a stunning thriller.”

When brilliant archaeologist Dilara Kenner is contacted by Sam Watson, an old family friend who says that he has crucial information about her missing father, Dilara abandons her Peruvian dig and rushes to Los Angeles to meet him. But at the airport, Sam speaks instead of Noah’s Ark—the artifact her father had long been searching for—and the possible death of billions. Before Sam can explain, he collapses. With his dying breath, he urges Dilara to find Tyler Locke—a man she’s never heard of.

Two days later Dilara manages to track down former combat engineer Tyler Locke on an oil rig off Newfoundland. Her helicopter transport goes down well short of the oil rig’s landing pad and Dilara and those aboard nearly drown. No sooner is Dilara safely on the rig than she convinces Tyler the crash was no accident. Tyler agrees to help her uncover the secret behind Noah’s Ark and, more important, her father's disappearance. As the picture begins to come into focus, they realize they have just seven days to find the Ark before its secret is used to wipe out civilization once again.

With a chilling premise and a blistering pace, Boyd Morrison combines all the best elements of a blockbuster thriller with an intelligent and fascinating exploration of one of the Old Testament’s great mysteries.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This is a solid, well written thriller, full of action, villainy, and close calls. Fans of James Rollins, Matthew Reilly, and Douglas Preston take note.” Booklist
“Heart-stopping action, biblical history, mysticism, a stunning archaeological find, and mind-boggling evil results in a breath-catching adventure. Morrison’s protagonists are brilliant and dedicated, resulting in a pitch-perfect combination of plot, action, and dialogue. This could easily be the most audacious and compelling novel and perhaps the most fascinating debut of the year.” RT Book Review
“With impeccable timing and flawless handling of multiple accents, characterizations, and plot shifts, [the narrator] engages listeners in this perfect blend of biblical history, archaeology, and religious fanaticism.” AudioFile
“What is the recipe for an awesome artifact thriller? Take an important relic (preferably biblical), a megalomaniac with unlimited funds and plans for world domination, a handsome and masterful hero, and a beautiful scholar. Sprinkle liberally with painful pasts, opportunities for redemption, and burgeoning romance. Here, Morrison, a Ph.D. in industrial engineering, sends us on an action-packed adventure with Drs. Tyler Locke and Dilara Kenner as they fend off assassins, save the world from a madman, and find Noah’s Ark. Accept the general premise, and both the action and the archaeology seem totally plausible.” Library Journal
The Ark by Boyd Morrison skillfully entwines Biblical history, archaeology, and religious fanaticism with high technology to create a riveting adventure of high-stakes terror and international intrigue. Wow. This is one fine heart-stopping thriller.” Douglas Preston, New York Times bestselling author
“Boyd Morrison’s novel is a stunning thriller with a premise as ingenious as it is flawlessly executed. Lightning paced, chillingly real, here is a novel that will have you holding your breath until the last page is turned. One of the best debuts I’ve read this year.” James Rollins, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Boyd Morrison

Author Bio: Boyd Morrison

Boyd Morrison is an author, actor, and engineer. He started his career working on the NASA space station project. After earning a PhD in engineering from Virginia Tech, he used his training to develop US patents for various companies as well as manage video game testing for the Xbox division of Microsoft. Now a full-time writer, he has written several popular novels. He lives in Seattle.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Runtime: 14.24
Audience: Adult
Language: English