The Best Man by Richard Peck audiobook

The Best Man

By Richard Peck
Read by Michael Crouch

Penguin Random House, Listening Library
4.43 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $18.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780735288874

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $30.00

    ISBN: 9780735288867

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos. Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school. But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story. In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Honoree in Fiction

A Kirkus Reviews Pick of Best Books of 2016 for Middle-Graders

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos.

Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school.

But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story.

In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

* "A nostalgic slice of Rockwell Americana with a contemporary filling. Delicious—take a bite. Kirkus, starred review
A puberty-stricken middle schooler learns about sexuality, gay marriage, and the various different ways to be a man when two of his beloved male role models get hitched in Peck’s wonderful, important book. Entertainment Weekly 
Peck is at heart a gentle realist, a keen observer of family dynamics who uses the soft power of understated emotion to tack social issues. His latest middle grade novel, The Best Man is . . . a reminder that no matter your gender or sexuality, love is love is love. The New York Times Book Review
* "An indelible portrait of what it looks like to grow up in an age of viral videos and media frenzies, undergirded by the same powerful sense of family that characterizes so much of Peck's work. Publishers Weekly, starred review
* "Rise and toast The Best Man. . . . We're not done needing books like this. Comic, easy to read, swiftly paced, and matter-of-fact, Peck's latest steps out to lead the way. Horn Book, starred review
* “The Newbery Award–winning [Richard Peck] explores what it means to love and what it means to be a man. A modern, funny, and realistic tale featuring strong, nuanced, and unforgettable characters. . . . Essential. School Library Journal, starred review
* "A witty, engaging novel from a master storyteller. Booklist, starred review
Boston GlobeHorn Book Award HonorNew York Times Notable Children's BookEntertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Books of 2016Horn Book FanfareSchool Library Journal Best Books of 2016Kirkus Best Books of 2016Booklist Best Books of 2016Chicago Public Library Best Books of 2016
“Peck is at heart a gentle realist, a keen observer of family dynamics…The Best Man is…a reminder that no matter your gender or sexuality, love is love is love.” New York Times Book Review
“It’s Peck’s intent to spark a discussion for young readers about same-sex marriages, a topic that standardized testing and textbooks haven’t caught up with yet. Bravo.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“A witty, engaging novel from a master storyteller.” Booklist (starred review)
“An indelible portrait of what it looks like to grow up in an age of viral videos and media frenzies, undergirded by…[a] powerful sense of family.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Explores what it means to love and what it means to be a man….A modern, funny, and realistic tale featuring strong, nuanced, and unforgettable characters. An essential addition for middle grade collections.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“Rise and toast The Best Man…We’re not done needing books like this. Comic, easy to read, swiftly paced, and matter-of-fact, Peck’s latest steps out to lead the way.” Horn Book (starred review)
“Narrator Michael Crouch is a natural with kid voices, and Archer sounds exactly like the sixth-grader he is. Crouch differentiates clearly between the kid and adult characters as the plot veers from touching to zany and back again…Listeners will relate, whether they’re all grown up or still growing.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Richard Peck

Author Bio: Richard Peck

Richard Peck has won almost every children’s fiction award, including the Margaret A. Edwards Award, the Newbery Medal, the Scott O’Dell Award, and the Edgar, and he has twice been nominated for a National Book Award. He was the first children’s author ever to have been awarded a National Humanities Medal.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 4.43
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English