The Bone Witch

By Rin Chupeco
Read by Emily Woo Zeller  and Will Damron

The Bone Witch Series: Book 1

03/07/2017 unabridged
Format:
  • $22.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781504784900

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781504784917

  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781504784887

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781504784894

In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price. When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training. In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha—one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles and make a powerful choice.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

An Amazon Best Book of the Month for March 2017

A Bustle Pick of New Young Adult Books for March 2017

A BuzzFeed Books Pick of Must-Reads

A Pop Crush Pick of the Most Anticipated YA Titles of 2017

A Publishers Weekly Pick of the Most Anticipated YA Books of Spring 2017

A Spring 2017 Kids' Indie Next List Pick

A March 2017 LibraryReads Pick

In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha—one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles and make a powerful choice.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Craftily weaves magic, intrigue, and mystery into a captivating tale…Chupeco uses vivid, descriptive detail, with nominal coarse language and violence, to set a rich tone that immerses readers in a vibrant and believable world. The short alternating chapters help move the story along quickly.” School Library Journal
“The Bone Witch is a fantasy lover’s fantasy, with a rich history and hierarchy of its own. The secrets and workings of its magic are revealed slowly in a suspenseful novel that is sure to appeal to those with a love of serious, dark fairy tales.” Foreword Reviews
“Fans of high fantasy looking for diverse representation will be eager to get their hands on this book.” School Library Connection
“Readers who enjoy immersing themselves in detail will revel in Chupeco’s finely wrought tale. Game of Thrones fans may see shades of Daenerys Targaryen in Tea, as she gathers a daeva army to unleash upon the world. Whether she is in the right remains a question unanswered, but the ending makes it clear her story is only beginning.” Booklist
“A high-fantasy Memoirs of a Geisha, Chupeco’s latest excels in originality…Chupeco is a writer to watch.” Kirkus Reviews
“Chupeco does a magnificent job of balancing an intimate narrative perspective with sweeping worldbuilding, crafting her tale within a multicultural melting pot of influences as she presses toward a powerful cliffhanger.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“A multifaceted drama of revenge and heartbreak.” RT Book Reviews
“An adventure with light romance that will appeal to fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah J. Maas.” VOYA
The Bone Witch is fantasy world-building at its best, and Rin Chupeco has created a strong and colorful cast of characters to inhabit that realm…Readers will feel the impending doom in this enticing, highly original fantasy, but must wait until the sequel for answers.” Shelf Awareness (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

You're reviewing: The Bone Witch

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Quality
Price
Value

Author

Author Bio: Rin Chupeco

Rin Chupeco was raised in Manila, Philippines, where she keeps four pets: a dog, two birds, and a husband. She worked as a technical writer and travel blogger before becoming a full-time author with the publication of her first novel, The Girl From the Well.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Edition: English