The Confusion of Languages by Siobhan Fallon audiobook

The Confusion of Languages

By Siobhan Fallon
Read by Lauren Fortgang  and Jorjeana Marie

Penguin Audio
10.36 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781524775797

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

A searing debut novel from the award-winning author of You Know When the Men are Gone, about jealousy, the unpredictable path of friendship, and the secrets kept in marriage, all set within the U.S. expat community of the Middle East during the rise of the Arab Spring. Both Cassie Hugo and Margaret Brickshaw dutifully followed their soldier husbands to the U.S. embassy in Jordan, but that’s about all the women have in common. After two years, Cassie’s become an expert on the rules, but newly arrived Margaret sees only her chance to explore. So when a fender-bender sends Margaret to the local police station, Cassie reluctantly agrees to watch Margaret’s toddler son. But as the hours pass, Cassie’s boredom and frustration turn to fear: Why isn’t Margaret answering her phone, and why is it taking so long to sort out a routine accident? Snooping around Margaret’s apartment, Cassie begins to question not only her friend’s whereabouts but also her own role in Margaret’s disappearance.   With achingly honest prose and riveting characters, The Confusion of Languages plunges readers into a shattering collision between two women and two worlds, affirming Siobhan Fallon as a powerful voice in American fiction and a storyteller not to be missed. “A gripping, cleverly plotted novel with surprising bite.”—Phil Klay “Mesmerizing and devastating....Two military wives must explore a modern-day, cultural labyrinth in this insatiable read.”—Sarah McCoy

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A searing debut novel from the award-winning author of You Know When the Men are Gone, about jealousy, the unpredictable path of friendship, and the secrets kept in marriage, all set within the U.S. expat community of the Middle East during the rise of the Arab Spring.

Both Cassie Hugo and Margaret Brickshaw dutifully followed their soldier husbands to the U.S. embassy in Jordan, but that’s about all the women have in common. After two years, Cassie’s become an expert on the rules, but newly arrived Margaret sees only her chance to explore. So when a fender-bender sends Margaret to the local police station, Cassie reluctantly agrees to watch Margaret’s toddler son. But as the hours pass, Cassie’s boredom and frustration turn to fear: Why isn’t Margaret answering her phone, and why is it taking so long to sort out a routine accident? Snooping around Margaret’s apartment, Cassie begins to question not only her friend’s whereabouts but also her own role in Margaret’s disappearance.
 
With achingly honest prose and riveting characters, The Confusion of Languages plunges readers into a shattering collision between two women and two worlds, affirming Siobhan Fallon as a powerful voice in American fiction and a storyteller not to be missed.

“A gripping, cleverly plotted novel with surprising bite.”—Phil Klay

“Mesmerizing and devastating....Two military wives must explore a modern-day, cultural labyrinth in this insatiable read.”—Sarah McCoy

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

This gripping personal tale of a friendship gone wrong brings our larger political blunders, blindness, and naiveté in the Middle East to light. Laura Harrington, author of Alice Bliss
Exquisite. Bustle
Gripping. Southern Living
“The world of military families may be unfamiliar to civilians, but Fallon writes about it brilliantly, charting its strict hierarchies, emotional complexities, and fierce loyalties with the intelligence and deep compassion they deserve. Roxana Robinson, author of Sparta  "Both a page-turning mystery and a riveting character study in the vein of Henry James or Patricia Highsmith. Tense, intriguing, smart, witty, set in an exotic locale, and full of barbed insights into the nature of friendship and marriage.
"Fallon’s ability to see into the living rooms, kitchens, and bars of Americans buffeted by their country’s wars makes her one of the most important observers of the American present. Matti Friedman, author of Pumpkinflowers: A Soldier’s Story
Fallon writes with authority and grace, and her characters are so compelling and complex. Emily Jeanne Miller, author of The News from the End of the World
“Evocative of the film BabelThe Confusion of Languages is layered, rich with meaning, and compelling right up to a final sentence so right and perfect that it resonates long after closing the book. Elizabeth Marro, author of Casualties
Fallon's novel has the irresistible force of a whirlpool. David Abrams, author of Fobbit
Touching. . . . A moving work about desire and the dislo­cation one might experience in a foreign land.  BookPage
A gripping, cleverly plotted novel with surprising bite. Phil Klay, author of Redeployment
An incisive examination of friendship and betrayal and a skillful mingling of cultural and domestic themes. Booklist (starred review)
“Mesmerizing and devastating. . . Two military wives must explore a modern-day, cultural labyrinth. An insatiable read that will leave you breathless. Sarah McCoy, author of The Mapmaker's Children
Fallon’s fast-paced, compelling story doesn’t sacrifice nuance or sensitivity . . . Piercing and precise. Florida Times-Union
Cerebral but still taut with suspense . . . this novel's sophisticated pacing and emotional core set it apart from the pack. ShelfAwareness
[T]hese women...are honest and well-formed characters . . . Page-turning and rich in detail, this is a solid, insightful debut. Kirkus Reviews
Explores friendships, parenting, and the civilian/military divide. . . . The more we can shrink the yawning chasm between families’ experiences, the better for us all. The Washington Post

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Siobhan Fallon

Author Bio: Siobhan Fallon

Siobhan Fallon is the author of You Know When the Men Are Gone, which was listed as a Best Book of 2011 by the San Francisco Chronicle, Self , the Los Angeles Public Library,and the New York Times; and won a 2012 Indies Choice Honor Award, the Texas Institute of Letters Award for First Fiction, and the 2012 Pen Center USA Literary Award in Fiction. More of Fallon’s work has appeared in Women’s Day, Good Housekeeping, New Letters, Publishers’ Weekly, NPR’s The Morning Edition, Huffington Post, and Military Spouse magazine. She has an MFA from the New School in New York City.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 10.36
Audience: Adult
Language: English