The Defense by Steve Cavanagh audiobook

The Defense: A Novel

By Steve Cavanagh
Read by Adam Sims

Macmillan Audio 9781250082251
10.94 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781427272737

"If you're a fan of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Brad Meltzer, then you will be a fan of Steve Cavanagh's The Defense." Nelson DeMille, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Radiant Angel Eddie Flynn used to be a con artist. Then he became a lawyer. Turns out the two aren't that different. In The Defense, former con artist turned lawyer Eddie Flynn gave up the law a year ago after a disastrous case, and he vowed never to step foot in a courtroom again. But now he doesn't have a choice. The head of the Russian mob in New York City, on trial for murder, has kidnapped Eddie's ten-year-old daughter: Eddie has to take this case whether he likes it or not. Using his razor-sharp wit and every con, bluff, grift, and trick in the book, Eddie has only forty-eight hours to defend an impossible murder trial. And if he loses this case, he loses everything.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

"If you're a fan of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Brad Meltzer, then you will be a fan of Steve Cavanagh's The Defense." Nelson DeMille, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Radiant Angel Eddie Flynn used to be a con artist. Then he became a lawyer. Turns out the two aren't that different. In The Defense, former con artist turned lawyer Eddie Flynn gave up the law a year ago after a disastrous case, and he vowed never to step foot in a courtroom again. But now he doesn't have a choice. The head of the Russian mob in New York City, on trial for murder, has kidnapped Eddie's ten-year-old daughter: Eddie has to take this case whether he likes it or not. Using his razor-sharp wit and every con, bluff, grift, and trick in the book, Eddie has only forty-eight hours to defend an impossible murder trial. And if he loses this case, he loses everything.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This audiobook goes from zero to ninety out of the box and doesn't flag until The End, so fasten your seat belt...Adam Sims gives a bravura performance so at one with the text that you hardly notice he's there beside you on the edge of your seat. AudioFile.com
This debut is in the vein of Grisham, Turow, and Margolin, [Cavanagh] has created a fascinating character and is skilled in describing the chess moves that go on during the trial. Narrator Adam Sims does a superb job of keeping the story flowing. Library Journal
“If you’re a fan of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Brad Meltzer, then you will be a fan of Steve Cavanagh’s The Defense." Nelson DeMille, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“Part classic courtroom drama in the John Grisham tradition and part Bruce Willis-like action hero fiction straight out of the Die Hard franchise, this is a rip-roaring, action-packed, and highly entertaining debut.” Irish Independent
“A rush of double-crosses, switched detonators, mob maneuvering, and some savvy lawyering. Cavanagh keeps things hopping and writes a fine action scene.” Dallas Morning News
“Provides everything a reader could ask for in a thriller―nail-biting suspense, a Russian nesting doll of a plot, and an original and compelling lead.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“This audiobook goes from zero to ninety out of the box and doesn’t flag until the end, so fasten your seat belt…Adam Sims gives a bravura performance so at one with the text that you hardly notice he’s there beside you on the edge of your seat.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Steve Cavanagh

Author Bio: Steve Cavanagh

Steve Cavanagh was born and raised in Belfast before studying law in Dublin. He practices civil rights law and has been involved in several high-profile cases; in 2010 he represented a factory worker who won the largest award of damages for race discrimination in Northern Ireland legal history. He holds a certificate in advanced advocacy and lectures on various legal subjects (but really, he just likes to tell jokes).

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 10.94
Audience: Adult
Language: English