The Dressmaker’s Dowry: A Novel

By Meredith Jaeger
Read by Cassandra Campbell  and Barrie Kreinik

9.68 Hours 02/07/2017 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $24.99

    Special Price $19.99

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062659729

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $34.99

    ISBN: 9781470854553

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781470854577

For readers of Lucinda Riley, Sarah Jio, or Susan Meissner, this gripping historical debut novel tells the story of two women: one, an immigrant seamstress who disappears from San Francisco’s gritty streets in 1876, and the other, a young woman in present day who must delve into the secrets of her husband’s wealthy family only to discover that she and the missing dressmaker might be connected in unexpected ways. An exquisite ring, passed down through generations, connects two women who learn that love is a choice, and forgiveness is the key to freedom … San Francisco: 1876 Immigrant dressmakers Hannelore Schaeffer and Margaret O’Brien struggle to provide food for their siblings, while mending delicate clothing for the city’s most affluent ladies. When wealthy Lucas Havensworth enters the shop, Hanna’s future is altered forever. With Margaret’s encouragement and the power of a borrowed green dress, Hanna dares to see herself as worthy of him. Then Margaret disappears, and Hanna turns to Lucas. Braving the gritty streets of the Barbary Coast and daring to enter the mansions of Nob Hill, Hanna stumbles upon Margaret’s fate, forcing her to make a devastating decision … one that will echo through the generations. San Francisco: Present Day In her elegant Marina apartment overlooking the Golden Gate Bridge, Sarah Havensworth struggles to complete the novel she quit her job for. Afraid to tell her husband of her writer’s block, Sarah is also hiding a darker secret—one that has haunted her for fourteen years. Then a news headline from 1876 sparks inspiration: Missing Dressmakers Believed to be Murdered. Compelled to discover what happened to Hannelore and Margaret, Sarah returns to her roots as a journalist. Will her beautiful heirloom engagement ring uncover a connection to Hanna Schaeffer?

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For readers of Lucinda Riley, Sarah Jio, or Susan Meissner, this gripping historical debut novel tells the story of two women: one, an immigrant seamstress who disappears from San Francisco’s gritty streets in 1876, and the other, a young woman in present day who must delve into the secrets of her husband’s wealthy family only to discover that she and the missing dressmaker might be connected in unexpected ways.

An exquisite ring, passed down through generations, connects two women who learn that love is a choice, and forgiveness is the key to freedom …

San Francisco: 1876

Immigrant dressmakers Hannelore Schaeffer and Margaret O’Brien struggle to provide food for their siblings, while mending delicate clothing for the city’s most affluent ladies. When wealthy Lucas Havensworth enters the shop, Hanna’s future is altered forever. With Margaret’s encouragement and the power of a borrowed green dress, Hanna dares to see herself as worthy of him. Then Margaret disappears, and Hanna turns to Lucas. Braving the gritty streets of the Barbary Coast and daring to enter the mansions of Nob Hill, Hanna stumbles upon Margaret’s fate, forcing her to make a devastating decision … one that will echo through the generations.

San Francisco: Present Day

In her elegant Marina apartment overlooking the Golden Gate Bridge, Sarah Havensworth struggles to complete the novel she quit her job for. Afraid to tell her husband of her writer’s block, Sarah is also hiding a darker secret—one that has haunted her for fourteen years. Then a news headline from 1876 sparks inspiration: Missing Dressmakers Believed to be Murdered. Compelled to discover what happened to Hannelore and Margaret, Sarah returns to her roots as a journalist. Will her beautiful heirloom engagement ring uncover a connection to Hanna Schaeffer?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Alternating chapters, narrators Cassandra Campbell and Barrie Kreinik deliver a satisfying story of two women mysteriously linked across time in San Francisco…Campbell handles the first-person narration well, navigating the tension between Sarah’s investigative instincts and her complicated family history. Both narrators ably distinguish numerous male and female characters, underscoring the scope of the wide-ranging story. Kreinik, however, has the added challenges voicing German and Irish accents, as well as Victorian colloquialisms, all of which she does seamlessly.” AudioFile
“[A] deliciously satisfying tale of love and resilience.” Lori Nelson Spielman, New York Times bestselling author
“Meredith Jaeger deftly intertwines two tales of love and loyalty and the vast lengths to which some will go to protect those they hold dear…Compelling.” Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author
“A riveting tale of intrigue and suspense…Readers will be captivated by [Jaeger’s] voice, that of a good old-fashioned storyteller.” RT Book Reviews (4 stars)
“Jaeger’s debut sends readers quickly and completely into San Francisco’s history…A satisfying exploration of the timeless nature of love and resilience.” Booklist (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Meredith Jaeger

Meredith Jaeger was born and raised in the San Francisco Bay area, the daughter of an American mother and Swiss father. She earned her BA in modern literature from the University of California, Santa Cruz, and has been making up stories since she was a child. A lover of narrow cobblestone streets and new adventures, Meredith has lived abroad in the Netherlands, the Czech Republic, and Australia. She currently lives on an island seven miles off the coast of San Francisco with her husband, their English bulldog, and crotchety cat.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 9.68
Audience: Adult
Language: English