The Echo Killing by Christi Daugherty audiobook

The Echo Killing: A Mystery

By Christi Daugherty
Read by Sophie Amoss

Macmillan Audio 9781250148841

The Harper McClain Series: Book 1

13.07 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781427293527

"Narrator Sophie Amoss creates a menacing dark drama that will grab listeners right away. She enhances the story with superb timing and a delicious Southern drawl" — AudioFile Magazine When a murder echoing a fifteen-year-old cold case rocks the Southern town of Savannah, crime reporter Harper McClain risks everything to find the identity of this calculated killer in Christi Daugherty's new audiobook The Echo Killing. A city of antebellum architecture, picturesque parks, and cobblestone streets, Savannah moves at a graceful pace. But for Harper McClain, the timeless beauty and culture that distinguishes her home’s Southern heritage vanishes during the dark and dangerous nights. She wouldn’t have it any other way. Not even finding her mother brutally murdered in their home when she was twelve has made her love Savannah any less. Her mother’s killer was never found, and that unsolved murder left Harper with an obsession that drove her to become one of the best crime reporters in the state of Georgia. She spends her nights with the police, searching for criminals. Her latest investigation takes her to the scene of a homicide where the details are hauntingly familiar: a young girl being led from the scene by a detective, a female victim naked and stabbed multiple times in the kitchen, and no traces of any evidence pointing towards a suspect. Harper has seen all of this before in her own life. The similarities between the murder of Marie Whitney and her own mother’s death lead her to believe they’re both victims of the same killer. At last, she has the chance to find the murderer who’s eluded justice for fifteen years and make sure another little girl isn’t forever haunted by a senseless act of violence—even if it puts Harper in the killer’s cross-hairs… Praise for The Echo Killing: "Fans of Hank Phillippi Ryan and Michael Connelly will thoroughly enjoy this new voice in crime fiction." — Library Journal "Daugherty delivers an insider's view of journalism, from the adrenaline rush of covering a major story to the drudgery of delving into the background behind a story." — Associated Press

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

"Narrator Sophie Amoss creates a menacing dark drama that will grab listeners right away. She enhances the story with superb timing and a delicious Southern drawl" — AudioFile Magazine

When a murder echoing a fifteen-year-old cold case rocks the Southern town of Savannah, crime reporter Harper McClain risks everything to find the identity of this calculated killer in Christi Daugherty's new audiobook The Echo Killing.

A city of antebellum architecture, picturesque parks, and cobblestone streets, Savannah moves at a graceful pace. But for Harper McClain, the timeless beauty and culture that distinguishes her home’s Southern heritage vanishes during the dark and dangerous nights. She wouldn’t have it any other way. Not even finding her mother brutally murdered in their home when she was twelve has made her love Savannah any less.

Her mother’s killer was never found, and that unsolved murder left Harper with an obsession that drove her to become one of the best crime reporters in the state of Georgia. She spends her nights with the police, searching for criminals. Her latest investigation takes her to the scene of a homicide where the details are hauntingly familiar: a young girl being led from the scene by a detective, a female victim naked and stabbed multiple times in the kitchen, and no traces of any evidence pointing towards a suspect.

Harper has seen all of this before in her own life. The similarities between the murder of Marie Whitney and her own mother’s death lead her to believe they’re both victims of the same killer. At last, she has the chance to find the murderer who’s eluded justice for fifteen years and make sure another little girl isn’t forever haunted by a senseless act of violence—even if it puts Harper in the killer’s cross-hairs…

Praise for The Echo Killing:

"Fans of Hank Phillippi Ryan and Michael Connelly will thoroughly enjoy this new voice in crime fiction." — Library Journal

"Daugherty delivers an insider's view of journalism, from the adrenaline rush of covering a major story to the drudgery of delving into the background behind a story." — Associated Press

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Narrator Sophie Amoss creates a menacing dark drama that will grab listeners right away. She enhances the story with superb timing and a delicious Southern drawl. AudioFile, Earphones Award Winner
“Narrator Sophie Amoss creates a menacing dark drama that will grab listeners right away. She enhances the story with superb timing and a delicious Southern drawl. Harper and Luke, her sexy companion, who is a cop, and even Miles, her photographer, bristle with the energy that Amoss generates in this fast-paced story. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“Daugherty delivers an insider’s view of journalism, from the adrenaline rush of covering a major story to the drudgery of delving into the background behind a story.” Associated Press
“Eye-poppingly tense, imbued with journalistic authenticity from former crime reporter Daugherty and focused laser-like on her vivid creation of Harper.” Richmond Times-Dispatch
“A realistic page turner that balances urban grit and Southern Gothic.” Cleveland Plain Dealer
“Fans of Hank Phillippi Ryan and Michael Connelly will thoroughly enjoy this new voice in crime fiction.” Library Journal
“Well-plotted and riveting, this introduction of Harper McClain is a must-read! Harper may be an amateur sleuth, but don’t mistake this for a cozy mystery. It’s a gritty, personal look at murder and corruption, and Harper is a fiercely determined heroine who alienates herself from nearly everyone around her—perhaps even readers—before all is said and done. The case itself is equally compelling, as is the cast of supporting characters and the southern Georgia setting. Plenty of pulse-pounding twists keep the tension high, though the ins and outs of newspaper journalism give a bit of a breather. A couple of plot trails that remain loose ends guarantee that readers will be eager for the next book in this great new series!” RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Christi Daugherty

Author Bio: Christi Daugherty

Christi Daugherty saw her first dead body at the age of twenty-two while working as a crime reporter. Over the years there would be many more while she covered murders in cities like Savannah, Baton Rouge, and New Orleans. Her writing eventually took her to England, where she wrote the Night School series of thrillers for young adults under the name C J Daugherty.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 13.07
Audience: Adult
Language: English