The End of Gender by Debra Soh audiobook

The End of Gender: Debunking the Myths about Sex and Identity in Our Society

By Debra Soh
Read by Debra Soh

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781982132514
7.65 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $17.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781797115825

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781797115849

International sex researcher, neuroscientist, and frequent contributor to The Globe and Mail (Toronto) Debra Soh debunks popular gender myths in this fascinating, research-based, scientific examination of the many facets of gender identity. Is our gender something we’re born with or are we conditioned by society? In The End of Gender, neuroscientist and sexologist Dr. Debra Soh uses a research-based approach to address this hot-button topic, unmasking popular misconceptions about the nature vs. nurture debate, and exploring what it means to be a woman or a man in today’s society. Both scientific and objective and drawing on original research and carefully conducted interviews, Soh tackles a wide-range of issues such as gender-neutral parenting, gender dysphoric children, and and the neuroscience of being transgender. She debates today’s accepted notion that gender is a social construct and a spectrum, and challenges the idea that there is no difference between how female and male brains operate. The End of Gender is a conversation-starting work that will challenge what you thought you knew about gender, identity, and everything in between. Timely, informative, and provocative—perfect for readers of Steven Pinker and Christina Hoff Sommers—it will arm you with the facts you need to come to your own conclusions about gender identity and its place in the world today.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

International sex researcher, neuroscientist, and frequent contributor to The Globe and Mail (Toronto) Debra Soh debunks popular gender myths in this fascinating, research-based, scientific examination of the many facets of gender identity.

Is our gender something we’re born with or are we conditioned by society? In The End of Gender, neuroscientist and sexologist Dr. Debra Soh uses a research-based approach to address this hot-button topic, unmasking popular misconceptions about the nature vs. nurture debate, and exploring what it means to be a woman or a man in today’s society.

Both scientific and objective and drawing on original research and carefully conducted interviews, Soh tackles a wide-range of issues such as gender-neutral parenting, gender dysphoric children, and and the neuroscience of being transgender. She debates today’s accepted notion that gender is a social construct and a spectrum, and challenges the idea that there is no difference between how female and male brains operate.

The End of Gender is a conversation-starting work that will challenge what you thought you knew about gender, identity, and everything in between. Timely, informative, and provocative—perfect for readers of Steven Pinker and Christina Hoff Sommers—it will arm you with the facts you need to come to your own conclusions about gender identity and its place in the world today.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Debra Soh’s clearly written book walks the reader through the science and politics of sex and gender research. Her discussion is accessible, balanced and thoughtful.” Professor Simon Baron-Cohen, director of the Autism Research Center at Cambridge University
“Debra Soh has given us a lucid explanation of the latest science and politics of men and women.” Steven Pinker, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Debra Soh

Author Bio: Debra Soh

Dr. Debra Soh is a neuroscientist who specializes in gender, sex, and sexual orientation. She received her doctorate from York University in Toronto and worked as an academic researcher for eleven years. Her writing has appeared in the Toronto Globe and Mail, Harper’s Magazine, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Scientific American, Playboy, Quillette, and many other publications. Her research has been published in academic journals including the Archives of Sexual Behavior and Frontiers in Human Neuroscience. As a journalist, she writes about the science and politics of human sexuality and gender, free speech, and censorship in academia.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Nonfiction/Social Science
Runtime: 7.65
Audience: Adult
Language: English