The Golden Child by Wendy James audiobook

The Golden Child: When online bullying spirals out of control who is to blame?

By Wendy James
Read by Caroline Lee

HarperAudio
12.20 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Not Available For Sale in us

    ISBN: 9781460797808

2017 Ned Kelly Award Best Crime Fiction shortlist 'A chilling novel of our time, with a truly shocking twist' Australian Women's Weekly When teenage bullying spirals out of control who is to blame? Blogger Lizzy's life is shiny, happy, normal. Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-life alter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions simmer with her husband, mother-in-law, her own mother. Her daughters, once the objects of her existence, have moved into teenage-hood, their lives -­ at school, home and online - increasingly mysterious to her. Then a fellow student is callously bullied and the finger of blame pointed at one of Beth's girls. As an innocent child lies suspended between life and death, two families are forced to question everything they believe about their children, and the answers are terrifying. As unsettling as it is compelling, The Golden Child asks: how well can you know anyone in the digital age? A potent story with shades of The Party and Mary Kubica. Two families grapple with the tragic fallout of cyberbullying. PRAISE 'On par with the thought-provoking nature of Jodi Picoult's works, combined with the rapt storytelling style of Liane Moriarty, readers will finish the last page wanting more' Erin Holt, Booklist US 'The novel is cleverly constructed, the characters are extremely well-drawn, the use of social media as a plot device is very sophisticated, and the resolution is a genuine surprise' Judges' report, Ned Kelly Crime Awards, 2017 'This is domestic noir at its most intelligent and sharp' Sydney Morning Herald 'It takes 48 hours to pulse through Wendy James' rollercoaster 21st century story about parenting' Australian Women's Weekly 'an engaging and intimate read that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult, with nods to Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas' The Slap . . . 4 Stars' Books & Publishing 'This book is utterly brilliant' Nicola Moriarty' 'Brilliant. Such a clever plot, and such real characters, and so very, very well written' Danielle Hawkins

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

2017 Ned Kelly Award Best Crime Fiction shortlist

'A chilling novel of our time, with a truly shocking twist' Australian Women's Weekly

When teenage bullying spirals out of control who is to blame?

Blogger Lizzy's life is shiny, happy, normal. Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-life alter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions simmer with her husband, mother-in-law, her own mother. Her daughters, once the objects of her existence, have moved into teenage-hood, their lives -­ at school, home and online - increasingly mysterious to her.

Then a fellow student is callously bullied and the finger of blame pointed at one of Beth's girls. As an innocent child lies suspended between life and death, two families are forced to question everything they believe about their children, and the answers are terrifying.

As unsettling as it is compelling, The Golden Child asks: how well can you know anyone in the digital age?

A potent story with shades of The Party and Mary Kubica.

Two families grapple with the tragic fallout of cyberbullying.

PRAISE

'On par with the thought-provoking nature of Jodi Picoult's works, combined with the rapt

storytelling style of Liane Moriarty, readers will finish the last page wanting more' Erin Holt, Booklist US

'The novel is cleverly constructed, the characters are extremely well-drawn, the use of social media as a plot device is very sophisticated, and the resolution is a genuine surprise' Judges' report, Ned Kelly Crime Awards, 2017

'This is domestic noir at its most intelligent and sharp' Sydney Morning Herald
'It takes 48 hours to pulse through Wendy James' rollercoaster 21st century story about parenting'
Australian Women's Weekly

'an engaging and intimate read that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult, with nods to Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas' The Slap . . . 4 Stars' Books & Publishing

'This book is utterly brilliant' Nicola Moriarty'

'Brilliant. Such a clever plot, and such real characters, and so very, very well written' Danielle Hawkins

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Wendy James

Author Bio: Wendy James

Wendy James is the celebrated author of eight novels, including the bestselling The Mistake and the compelling The Golden Child, which was shortlisted for the 2017 Ned Kelly Award for crime. Her debut novel, Out of the Silence, won the 2006 Ned Kelly Award for first crime novel, and was shortlisted for the Nita May Dobbie award for women’s writing. Wendy works as an editor at the Australian Institute of Health Innovation and writes some of the sharpest and most topical domestic noir novels in the country.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 12.20
Audience: Adult
Language: English