The Heaven of Animals by David James Poissant audiobook

The Heaven of Animals: Stories

By David James Poissant
Read by various narrators

Recorded Books, Inc.
9.75 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.99

    Special Price $10.00

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781490613888

In this masterful debut, an award-winning writer and first-rate storyteller explores the tenuous bonds of family-- fathers and sons, husbands and wives-- as they are tested by the sometimes brutal power of love. In each of the stories in this remarkable collection, David James Poissant delivers a moving portrayal of a relationship in turmoil. His strikingly true-to-life characters have reached a precipice, chased there by troubles of their own making. Some stand frightened, some ready to fight. Some seek atonement, others the atonement that is owed them. But, brought to the brink, each must make a choice: Leap, or look away? Lee Martin writes that Poissant forces us " to face the people we are when we' re alone in the dark," and, from the two men racing to save the life of a sick alligator in " Lizard Man" to the girl helping her boyfriend face his greatest fears in " The End of Aaron," from a son grieving his father in " 100% Cotton" as he stalks death on an Atlanta street corner to a brother' s surprise at the surreal, improbable beauty of a late night encounter with a wolf, Poissant' s invented worlds shine with honesty and dark complexity, but also with a profound compassion. These are stories hell-bent on hope. Fresh, smart, lively-- and often wickedly funny-- The Heaven of Animals is breathtakingly original and compulsively readable. As bestselling author Kevin Wilson puts it, " Poissant is a writer who knows us with such clarity that we wonder how he found his way so easily into our hearts and souls."

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A 2014 Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist

In this masterful debut, an award-winning writer and first-rate storyteller explores the tenuous bonds of family-- fathers and sons, husbands and wives-- as they are tested by the sometimes brutal power of love. In each of the stories in this remarkable collection, David James Poissant delivers a moving portrayal of a relationship in turmoil. His strikingly true-to-life characters have reached a precipice, chased there by troubles of their own making. Some stand frightened, some ready to fight. Some seek atonement, others the atonement that is owed them. But, brought to the brink, each must make a choice: Leap, or look away? Lee Martin writes that Poissant forces us " to face the people we are when we' re alone in the dark," and, from the two men racing to save the life of a sick alligator in " Lizard Man" to the girl helping her boyfriend face his greatest fears in " The End of Aaron," from a son grieving his father in " 100% Cotton" as he stalks death on an Atlanta street corner to a brother' s surprise at the surreal, improbable beauty of a late night encounter with a wolf, Poissant' s invented worlds shine with honesty and dark complexity, but also with a profound compassion. These are stories hell-bent on hope. Fresh, smart, lively-- and often wickedly funny-- The Heaven of Animals is breathtakingly original and compulsively readable. As bestselling author Kevin Wilson puts it, " Poissant is a writer who knows us with such clarity that we wonder how he found his way so easily into our hearts and souls."

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“There is much to admire in David James Poissant’s excellent debut story collection. His men and women are never mere caricatures. They are flawed but fully human and their stories are compelling and true to life’s complexities. There is a refreshing lack of glibness in his work; he is a serious writer and these are serious stories.” Ron Rash New York Times bestselling author of Serena and Nothing Gold Can Stay
"[A] wise debut collection…Poissant’s characters are often a mess—belligerent, impulsive, smart in all the wrong ways—but he manages their lives with precision, intelligence, and clarity…Beautiful [stories], with a rogue touch.” New York Times Book Review
The Heaven of Animals targets the tough and tender dynamics that make and break families.” Elle
“A penetrating look at American manhood in the new century.” Atlanta Journal Constitution
“[A] collection of vicious and heartbreaking vignettes.” Orlando Sentinel
“The much-anthologized Poissant justifies his status as a favorite of the literary quarterlies with this debut collection of unsparing yet warmly empathetic stories…Rueful and kind, akin to both Anton Chekhov and Raymond Carver in humane spirit and technical mastery” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“We care about and sympathize with Poissant’s characters, even the most conflicted and difficult ones. The pieces vary greatly in length, style, and subject matter…Poissant is an excellent writer…the brief and beautiful moments of human connection shine through in every story.” Library Journal (starred review)
“An engaging, well-crafted collection…The author’s deep caring for his characters surfaces in his compassionate attempts to unpack the perplexities of the human condition. Poissant’s thoroughly realist style and tight storytelling will appeal to fans of Raymond Carver, Richard Ford, and George Saunders.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: David James Poissant

Author Bio: David James Poissant

David James Poissant’s stories have appeared in The Atlantic, Playboy, One Story, the Southern Review, Glimmer Train, and in the New Stories from the South and Best New American Voices anthologies. His writing has been awarded the Matt Clark Prize, the RopeWalk Fiction Chapbook Prize, the George Garrett Fiction Award, and the Alice White Reeves Memorial Award from the National Society of Arts & Letters, as well as awards from the Chicago Tribune, The Atlantic, and Playboy. He teaches in the MFA program at the University of Central Florida and lives in Orlando with his wife and daughters.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 9.75
Audience: Adult
Language: English