The House at Tyneford by Natasha Solomons audiobook

The House at Tyneford

By Natasha Solomons
Read by Justine Eyre

Blackstone Publishing 9780452297647
14.18 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $24.95

    Special Price $12.48

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781470805029

  • Regular Price: $6.95

    Special Price $2.78

    ISBN: 9781482137385

  • Regular Price: $32.95

    Special Price $19.77

    ISBN: 9781455128877

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $17.97

    ISBN: 9781455128884

An irresistible World War II story of a forbidden upstairs-downstairs romance in a great English country house It’s the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau is forced to leave her glittering life of parties and champagne to become a parlor maid in England. She arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay, where servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn. But war is coming, and the world is changing. When Kit, the son of Tyneford’s master, returns home, he and Elise strike up an unlikely friendship that will transform Tyneford—and Elise—forever. A page-turning tale of family, love, loss, and the power of the human spirit set against the perennially popular backdrop of World War II England, Natasha Solomons’ The House at Tyneford is upmarket romantic fiction at its best.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times bestseller

A BookPage Top Pick of What to Read after Downton

Selected for the Indie Next List

An irresistible World War II story of a forbidden upstairs-downstairs romance in a great English country house

It’s the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau is forced to leave her glittering life of parties and champagne to become a parlor maid in England. She arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay, where servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn. But war is coming, and the world is changing. When Kit, the son of Tyneford’s master, returns home, he and Elise strike up an unlikely friendship that will transform Tyneford—and Elise—forever.

A page-turning tale of family, love, loss, and the power of the human spirit set against the perennially popular backdrop of World War II England, Natasha Solomons’ The House at Tyneford is upmarket romantic fiction at its best.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Natasha Solomons has written a lovely, atmospheric novel full of charming characters and good, old-fashioned storytelling. Fans of Downton Abbey and Kate Morton’s The Forgotten Garden will absolutely adore The House at Tyneford.” Kristin Hannah, New York Times bestselling author
“The House at Tyneford is an exquisite tale of love, family, suspense, and survival. Capturing with astonishing detail and realism a vanished world of desire and hope trapped beneath rigid class convention, Natasha Solomons’ stunning new novel tells the story of Elise Landau. Already a bestseller in Britain, American readers will thrill to The House at Tyneford.” Katherine Howe, New York Times bestselling author
“Both a love story set during the Second World War and an elegy to the English country house…The greatest pleasure of the novel is its stirring narrative and the constant sense of discovery.” Times Literary Supplement (London)
“An engaging read…Ripe for the screen.” Guardian (London)
“The House at Tyneford is a wonderful, old-fashioned novel that takes you back in time to the manor homes, aristocracy, and domestic servants of England. In this setting, Natasha Solomons gives us a courageous heroine whose incredible love story will keep you in suspense until the final page.” Kathleen Grissom, author of The Kitchen House
“A vivid and poignant story about hope, loss, and reinvention.” Psychologies Magazine (UK)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Natasha Solomons

Author Bio: Natasha Solomons

Natasha Solomons is a screenwriter and the New York Times bestselling author of The Gallery of Vanished Husbands, The House at Tyneford, and Mr. Rosenblum Dreams in English. Her novels have been published in seventeen languages. She lives in Dorset, England, with her husband, the writer David Solomons, and young children.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 14.18
Audience: Adult
Language: English