The Land of Forgotten Girls by Erin Entrada Kelly audiobook

The Land of Forgotten Girls

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Read by LuLu Lam

HarperCollins, Greenwillow Books 9780062238641
5.04 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $15.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062448194

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $25.99

    ISBN: 9781504696111

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better. School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls “A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance.” For readers of Pam Muñoz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family. Winner of a Parents’ Choice Gold Award. Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died, and her father moved Sol and her youngest sister from the Philippines to Louisiana. After her father leaves, all Sol and Ming have is their evil stepmother, Vea. Sol has protected Ming all this time, but then Ming begins to believe that Auntie Jove—their mythical, world-traveling aunt—is really going to come rescue them. Can Sol protect Ming from this impossible hope? Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly writes masterfully about the challenges of finding hope in impossible circumstances, in this novel that will appeal to fans of Cynthia Kadohata and Thanhha Lai. Booklist said, “Kelly’s sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol’s true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life.”

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A School Library Journal Best Book in Audio for 2016

In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better.

School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls “A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance.” For readers of Pam Muñoz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family. Winner of a Parents’ Choice Gold Award.

Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died, and her father moved Sol and her youngest sister from the Philippines to Louisiana. After her father leaves, all Sol and Ming have is their evil stepmother, Vea. Sol has protected Ming all this time, but then Ming begins to believe that Auntie Jove—their mythical, world-traveling aunt—is really going to come rescue them. Can Sol protect Ming from this impossible hope?

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly writes masterfully about the challenges of finding hope in impossible circumstances, in this novel that will appeal to fans of Cynthia Kadohata and Thanhha Lai.

Booklist said, “Kelly’s sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol’s true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life.”

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Sisterhood, friendship, truth, hope: these are the themes that lift The Land of Forgotten Girls…into the realm of the truly special.…Readers who feel marginalized or alone in their troubles—and who doesn’t at times?—will adore Sol and her ragtag family, both chosen and real.” Shelf Awareness
“[An] enchanting plot..[with] a little bit of everything—fantasy, realism, sisterhood, friendship, suspense, and humor.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“Kelly’s sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol’s true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life.” Booklist (starred review)
“Kelly balances the bleak and the beautiful in a novel about the multilayered bond between sisters…Kelly’s strong heroine offers hope in the face of loss.” Publishers Weekly
“This stirring and original story ends on a credibly hopeful note while remaining firmly rooted in reality, and readers who have embraced Sol will be cautiously optimistic for her future.” Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“Lam effortlessly blends a wide variety of emotions, backgrounds, and intensities as she tells Kelly’s nuanced, resonating story about life between two cultures, surviving loss, and finding family in the least expected places.” School Library Journal (audio review)
“Narrator LuLu Lam’s silvery, matter-of-fact tones are perfectly suited to portray Sol…As the narrative jumps between past and present, between misery and anticipation, Lam’s range and insight guide her through a parade of intriguing characters…Lam’s poise and skill give extra weight to the action, and bolster the fantastical stories that Sol uses to keep herself strong in times of despair.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Erin Entrada Kelly

Author Bio: Erin Entrada Kelly

Erin Entrada Kelly is the acclaimed author of several books, including Hello, Universe, which wom the Newbery Medal. Her debut novel, Blackbird Fly, was named a best book of the year by Kirkus Reviews and School Library Journal and was an Asian/Pacific American Literature Honor Book. She is also the author of The Land of Forgotten Girls, winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, and You Go First, an Indie Next Pick, Kirkus Reviews Best Book, and School Library Journal Best Book.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 5.04
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English