The Late Bloomers' Club by Louise Miller audiobook

The Late Bloomers' Club: A Novel

By Louise Miller
Read by Emily Rankin

Penguin Audio
10.02 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780525630975

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

“A downright delightful read. . . [with] everything you want from a small town summer read: sweetness, charm, and a side of romance.” –HelloGiggles A delightful novel about two headstrong sisters, a small town's efforts to do right by the community, and the power of a lost dog to summon true love Nora, the owner of the Miss Guthrie Diner, is perfectly happy serving up apple cider donuts, coffee, and eggs-any-way-you-like-em to her regulars, and she takes great pleasure in knowing exactly what's "the usual." But her life is soon shaken when she discovers she and her free-spirited, younger sister Kit stand to inherit the home and land of the town's beloved cake lady, Peggy Johnson. Kit, an aspiring--and broke--filmmaker thinks her problems are solved when she and Nora find out Peggy was in the process of selling the land to a big-box developer before her death. The people of Guthrie are divided--some want the opportunities the development will bring, while others are staunchly against any change--and they aren't afraid to leave their opinions with their tips. Time is running out, and the sisters need to make a decision soon. But Nora isn't quite ready to let go of the land, complete with a charming farmhouse, an ancient apple orchard and the clues to a secret life that no one knew Peggy had. Troubled by the conflicting needs of the town, and confused by her growing feelings towards Elliot, the big-box developer's rep, Nora throws herself into solving the one problem that everyone in town can agree on--finding Peggy's missing dog, Freckles. When a disaster strikes the diner, the community of Guthrie bands together to help her, and Nora discovers that doing the right thing doesn't always mean giving up your dreams.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

“A downright delightful read. . . [with] everything you want from a small town summer read: sweetness, charm, and a side of romance.” –HelloGiggles A delightful novel about two headstrong sisters, a small town's efforts to do right by the community, and the power of a lost dog to summon true love Nora, the owner of the Miss Guthrie Diner, is perfectly happy serving up apple cider donuts, coffee, and eggs-any-way-you-like-em to her regulars, and she takes great pleasure in knowing exactly what's "the usual." But her life is soon shaken when she discovers she and her free-spirited, younger sister Kit stand to inherit the home and land of the town's beloved cake lady, Peggy Johnson. Kit, an aspiring--and broke--filmmaker thinks her problems are solved when she and Nora find out Peggy was in the process of selling the land to a big-box developer before her death. The people of Guthrie are divided--some want the opportunities the development will bring, while others are staunchly against any change--and they aren't afraid to leave their opinions with their tips. Time is running out, and the sisters need to make a decision soon. But Nora isn't quite ready to let go of the land, complete with a charming farmhouse, an ancient apple orchard and the clues to a secret life that no one knew Peggy had. Troubled by the conflicting needs of the town, and confused by her growing feelings towards Elliot, the big-box developer's rep, Nora throws herself into solving the one problem that everyone in town can agree on--finding Peggy's missing dog, Freckles. When a disaster strikes the diner, the community of Guthrie bands together to help her, and Nora discovers that doing the right thing doesn't always mean giving up your dreams.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

A soup-to-nuts treat.  If only Livvy Rawlings could move her whisks and mixing bowls into your own kitchen to work the magic Louise Miller spins throughout these scrumptious pages. Mameve Medwed, author of How Elizabeth Barrett Browning Saved My Life 
This book comes with a warning: do not read while hungry. Absolutely charming and perfectly delicious. Bliss. Natasha Solomons, author of The Song of Hartgrove Hall
With insight, warmth, and humor, Louise Miller describes life in a kitchen as only an experienced baker can. A magnificent debut. J. Ryan Stradal, author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest
Pies aren’t simple. Neither is Livvy or The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living. All three, however, are capable of warming the heart. PopMatters
Genuine and sweet (with a pinch of salt), THE CITY BAKER'S GUIDE TO COUNTRY LIVING is a feast for the senses, for the head and the heart. With great warmth and generosity, Louise Miller brings a place and its lovable inhabitants to life. I adored this book; it made me want to dance. And eat. Kate Racculia, author of Bellweather Rhapsody
Louise Miller knows that a great story is like a prize-winning apple pie—warm, full to the brim with character, and not too sweet.  Her descriptions of the Vermont countryside, the Sugar Maple Inn, and baker Livvy Rawling's desserts make you want to pack a bag and head out for a long weekend in New England. Erica Bauermeister, author of The Lost Art of Mixing  
“Compulsively readable and written with deep tenderness. . .  in a rare book that not only whets the appetite, but makes the heart a little more whole.  Erika Swyler, author of The Book of Speculation
I fell in love with the community of Guthrie, Vermont, the soul-healing landscape, the quirky characters, and the sumptuous desserts Olivia Rawlings creates for them.  Juliette Fay, author of The Shortest Way Home 
"Louise Miller's debut is like a walk in the Vermont woods on a sunny day: crisp, bright, colorful, soul-reviving....Delicious. Brenda Bowen, author of Enchanted August
A warm, fresh look at finding one's way and making new choices in life.  It was studded with satisfying nuggets of wisdom throughout, like dabs of butter in a homemade pie, every baker's--and writer's--secret ingredient of choice. Ellen Airgood, author of South of Superior 
Beautifully light and rich. . . . Comforting without being cozy, this is escapist fiction for those who want a quieter—and tastier—life.  Elle.com“Mix in one part Diane Mott ­Davidson’s delightful culinary adventures with several tablespoons of Jan Karon’s country living and quirky characters, bake at 350 degrees for one rich and warm romance.
Add in some romance and mouth-watering food descriptions, and Louise Miller’s debut novel is a giant serving of comfort food. Treat yourself. RealSimple“[An] endearing debut. . . Miller, a pastry chef herself, writes about food with vivid detail, but her rhythmic prose is even crisper when her interests converge [and she] also excels at characterization, revealing her protagonist’s complex pasts in subtle ways.
As warm and cozy as buttered brioche and tea next to the fireplace on a winter morning. . . will appeal to fans of Jan Karon’s 'Mitford' books and Jennifer Chiaverini’s 'Elm Creek Quilts' series. Library Journal
A transportive book, and one that activates the senses: the smell of cider donuts, the taste of elderberry juice and corn in red-and-white cardboard boats drenched in butter and flecked with sea salt, and the summertime warmth  of rural New England.  The Boston Globe
Readers with a sweet tooth and a passion for dogs are sure to enjoy The Late Bloomers’ Club. . .  charming. BookPage
Wonderful. USA Today (online) “The Late Bloomers’ Club is a downright delightful read. . . It has everything you want from a small town summer read: sweetness, charm, and a side of romance.
Heartwarming, charming and utterly fascinating, The Late Bloomers' Club is a beautifully rendered peek behind the scenes of a small town, its community and its mysteries. I adored this novel.  Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times bestselling author of The Bookshop at Water’s End
“Written with insight, honesty, and dry wit, The Late Bloomers' Club is as cheery and warming as a campfire, an escape into a world where the cakes are homemade, the summer evenings glimmer with fireflies, and thoughtfulness always triumphs. Ann Mah, author of The Lost Vintage
This book is super cozy—probably because it takes place in a small town in Vermont, and because the protagonist has a dog named Salty, and because she’s a baker who spends her days working at an inn. Okay, it’s Gilmore Girls. Bon Appetit, “8 Food Novels You Need to Read this Summer”
Miller elevates the story by turning it into a Pinterest fantasy of rural America. . . [Her] visions of bucolic Vermont landscapes, cinnamon-scented kitchens and small-town friendliness make this reverie of country life an appealing one.  The New York Times Book Review
“The people in Guthrie have no shortage of troubles, but they also have compassion, imagination, humor, and a camaraderie we badly need in today's world. Miller's novels are not only worlds I love to spend time in, I want to live there. Jenna Blum, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Family
You’ll want to linger. People

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Louise Miller

Author Bio: Louise Miller

Louise Miller is a pastry chef who lives and works in Boston. She received a scholarship to attend GrubStreet’s Novel Incubator program, a yearlong workshop for novelists. She is an art school dropout, an amateur flower gardener, an old-time banjo player, an obsessive moviegoer, and a champion of old dogs. The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living is her debut novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Runtime: 10.02
Audience: Adult
Language: English