The Lending Library by Aliza Fogelson audiobook

The Lending Library: A Novel

By Aliza Fogelson
Read by Cris Dukehart

Brilliance Audio 9781503904019
8.25 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • $24.99

    ISBN: 9781799746270

For fans of Jane Green and Loretta Nyhan, a heartwarming debut novel about a daydreamer who gives her town, and herself, an amazing gift: a lending library in her sunroom. When the Chatsworth library closes indefinitely, Dodie Fairisle loses her sanctuary. How is a small-town art teacher supposed to cope without the never-ending life advice and enjoyment that books give her? Well, when she’s as resourceful and generous as Dodie, she turns her sunroom into her very own little lending library. At first just a hobby, this lit lovers’ haven opens up her world in incredible ways. She knows books are powerful, and soon enough they help her forge friendships between her zany neighbors—and attract an exciting new romance. But when the chance to adopt an orphaned child brings Dodie’s secret dream of motherhood within reach, everything else suddenly seems less important. Finding herself at a crossroads, Dodie must figure out what it means to live a full, happy life. If only there were a book that could tell her what to do…

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For fans of Jane Green and Loretta Nyhan, a heartwarming debut novel about a daydreamer who gives her town, and herself, an amazing gift: a lending library in her sunroom.

When the Chatsworth library closes indefinitely, Dodie Fairisle loses her sanctuary. How is a small-town art teacher supposed to cope without the never-ending life advice and enjoyment that books give her? Well, when she’s as resourceful and generous as Dodie, she turns her sunroom into her very own little lending library.

At first just a hobby, this lit lovers’ haven opens up her world in incredible ways. She knows books are powerful, and soon enough they help her forge friendships between her zany neighbors—and attract an exciting new romance.

But when the chance to adopt an orphaned child brings Dodie’s secret dream of motherhood within reach, everything else suddenly seems less important. Finding herself at a crossroads, Dodie must figure out what it means to live a full, happy life. If only there were a book that could tell her what to do…

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

In The Lending Library, Aliza Fogelson has created a world in which we’d all want to spend a quiet hour or two: a sunny spot chock full of hand-picked books, good neighbors and family with the very best of intentions—and the most unpredictable of results. This tale full of heart, yearning, and romance is perfect for the dreamy bookworm in all of us. Kelly Harms, author of The Overdue Life of Amy Byler
Bibliophiles of all sorts are sure to fall in love with Dodie and everyone she befriends along her bookish journey. The Lending Library is a charming read full of heart, hope, and books. Jennifer Gold, author of The Ingredients of Us
The Lending Library is a remarkable story of personal transformation through the power of books—and love—but don’t those two often go together? Dodie’s journey is so relatable, and at the same time so unique—Fogelson tells this emotional roller coaster of a story with zest and charm. Don’t miss this one! Loretta Nyhan, bestselling author of Digging In
A charming novel about family, fate, and (of course!) books, The Lending Library is sure to appeal to anyone who’s made a hard choice in life only to think, ‘Did I get that right?’ Aliza Fogelson is a fresh new voice in fiction. Camille Pagán, bestselling author of I’m Fine and Neither Are You
…[The Lending Library] should appeal to librarians and book lovers everywhere. Read-alikes include Karen Hawkins’s The Book Charmer and Jenny Colgan’s The Bookshop on the Corner. Library Journal
Fogelson’s debut is a beautiful heartwarming novel that weaves together a wide range of emotions. Book lovers will revel in Dodie’s journey of loss, abandonment, motherhood, and love. Jane Green fans won’t be able to put down this page-turner. Booklist (starred review)
Fogelson pairs a passionate bibliophile with a handsome construction worker and achieves maximum charm in her quirky and sweet debut…This should be catnip for book clubs. Publishers Weekly
“Cris Dukehart delivers a thoughtful and lively narration of this feel good story…Dukehart’s performance captures a range of characters, familiar emotions, and, most importantly, the playful sense of discovery in Dodie’s personal growth and unconditional love. AudioFile Magazine

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Aliza Fogelson

Author Bio: Aliza Fogelson

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Women
Runtime: 8.25
Audience: Adult
Language: English