The Manual of Detection by Jedediah Berry audiobook

The Manual of Detection

By Jedediah Berry
Read by Pete Larkin

Highbridge Audio, HighBridge
9.26 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $24.47
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781598878783

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Armed only with his umbrella and an unusual handbook, this unlikely detective stumbles into his first case when the real detective vanishes. Too soon, he is framed for murder, pursued by goons, and confounded by a femme fatale. His only choice: to enter t

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award

Winner of the 2009 Hammett Prize

Selected for the March 2009 Indie Next List

A 2010 Locus Award Nominee

Armed only with his umbrella and an unusual handbook, this unlikely detective stumbles into his first case when the real detective vanishes. Too soon, he is framed for murder, pursued by goons, and confounded by a femme fatale. His only choice: to enter t

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Berry sets up a neat literary game and plays it through to the end with a great deal of wit and aplomb…A distinctively surreal whodunit.” San Francisco Chronicle
“[Berry] defies many mystery novel conventions, but adventurous readers who stay with his strange and fabulous debut work will be handsomely rewarded…There is nothing mysterious about the appeal of this inventive, outrageous, and often amusing dream-within-a-dream.” Wall Street Journal
“The plot’s bursting with as many twists and surprises as you could hope for…It steams along the smooth rails of Berry’s neatly constructed sentences, barreling round each well-cambered turn with barely a judder.” London Review of Books
“Jedediah Berry has an ear well-tuned to the styles of the detective story from Holmes to Spade and can reproduce atmosphere with loving skill.” Guardian (London)
“Surreal, absurd, and cerebral, full of sly humor and winks, this novel is meticulously written and plotted. Fans of George Orwell, Ray Bradbury, and Jasper Fforde, take notice.” Boston Globe
“Jedediah Berry knows magic. The Manual of Detection combines the intricacy and thoughtfulness of Borges and Kafka with the page-turning excitement of a detective thriller…It made me laugh, thrill, think, and wonder.” Hannah Tinti, author of The Good Thief

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jedediah Berry

Author Bio: Jedediah Berry

Jedediah Berry holds an MFA from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and has been published in Best New American Voices 2008 (his story was described by Kirkus Reviews as a “mordant, gripping fantasy”) as well as in literary magazines and online fiction sites. By day, he is an assistant editor at Small Beer Press in Easthampton, Massachusetts.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 9.26
Audience: Adult
Language: English