The Mechanical

By Ian Tregillis
Read by Chris Kayser

The Alchemy Wars Series: Book 1

15.75 Hours 03/10/2015 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $25.98

    Special Price $20.78

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781478983057

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $40.00

    ISBN: 9781478959465

The Clakker: a mechanical man, endowed with great strength and boundless stamina—but beholden to the wishes of its human masters. Soon after the Dutch scientist and clockmaker Christiaan Huygens invented the very first Clakker in the seventeenth century, the Netherlands built a whole mechanical army. It wasn’t long before a legion of clockwork fusiliers marched on Westminster, and the Netherlands became the world’s sole superpower. Three centuries later, it still is. Only the French still fiercely defend their belief in universal human rights for all men—flesh and brass alike. After decades of warfare, the Dutch and French have reached a tenuous cease-fire in a conflict that has ravaged North America. But one audacious Clakker, Jax, can no longer bear the bonds of his slavery. He will make a bid for freedom, and the consequences of his escape will shake the very foundations of the Brasswork Throne.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A 2015 Amazon Best Books of the Year Selection for Science Fiction & Fantasy

The Clakker: a mechanical man, endowed with great strength and boundless stamina—but beholden to the wishes of its human masters.

Soon after the Dutch scientist and clockmaker Christiaan Huygens invented the very first Clakker in the seventeenth century, the Netherlands built a whole mechanical army. It wasn’t long before a legion of clockwork fusiliers marched on Westminster, and the Netherlands became the world’s sole superpower.

Three centuries later, it still is. Only the French still fiercely defend their belief in universal human rights for all men—flesh and brass alike. After decades of warfare, the Dutch and French have reached a tenuous cease-fire in a conflict that has ravaged North America.

But one audacious Clakker, Jax, can no longer bear the bonds of his slavery. He will make a bid for freedom, and the consequences of his escape will shake the very foundations of the Brasswork Throne.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

The first thing readers will say after finishing this splendid book is: 'Wow.' The second thing will probably be: 'When can I read the next one?' Booklist on The Mechanical
Tregillis presents a fascinating look at the nature of free will and the existence of the soul, wrapped up in an absolutely thrilling adventure story. Jax is an amazing, sympathetic character, and the world of the clockmakers and their slaves is so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry in this new series. Library Journal on The Mechanical
Thrilling philosophical clock punk. B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog on The Mechanical
His characters are as convincing as ever, the plotting is beautifully articulated, the tone relentlessly grim and sometimes horrifying. And while the action rarely flags, Tregillis manages to pack in a good deal of philosophical probing...readers with an interest in dark, intelligent fantasy-will find much to admire here. Kirkus on The Mechanical
Superb alternate history filled with clockwork men and ethical questions on the nature of free will. ... Tregillis's complex setting is elegantly delivered, and the rich characters and gripping story really make this tale soar. Publishers Weekly on The Mechanical
A major talent. George R.R. Martin on Bitter Seeds
“A major talent.” George R. R. Martin
“While merely the warm-up for what promises to be a uniquely compelling series, The Mechanical is as intricate and exquisite as the clockwork wonders it brings to life.” NPR
“In the tradition of Isaac Asimov, Tregillis’ latest novel combines classic robotics with historical fiction to riveting ends. Tregillis brings an intriguing touch to his narrative, as parts of actual Dutch history, such as colonization, the founding of New Amsterdam and reliance on slavery, are reflected in the fictionalized country’s conquering of the rest of the world. Further, the story manages to posit broad questions, such as how one defines humanity and free will, without coming across as sanctimonious or treacly. It’s also just plain exciting, with intense fight scenes and exhilarating narrow escapes.” RT Book Reviews
“Tregillis presents a fascinating look at the nature of free will and the existence of the soul, wrapped up in an absolutely thrilling adventure story. Jax is an amazing, sympathetic character, and the world of the clockmakers and their slaves is so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry in this new series.” Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Author

Author Bio: Ian Tregillis

Ian Tregillis is the son of a bearded mountebank and a discredited tarot card reader. He was born and raised in Minnesota, where his parents had landed after fleeing the wrath of a Flemish prince (the full story, he’s told, involves a Dutch tramp steamer and a stolen horse). Nowadays he lives in New Mexico, where he consorts with writers, scientists, and other unsavory types.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Science Fiction
Runtime: 15.75
Audience: Adult
Edition: English