The Ops Room Girls by Vicki Beeby audiobook

The Ops Room Girls

By Vicki Beeby
Read by Eleanor Yates

Bolinda Audio 9781800320918

The Women's Auxiliary Air Force Series: Book 1

10.62 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • $39.99
    Available on 11/29/2020

    ISBN: 9781867502661

When Evie’s dreams come crashing down, she’s determined to still make something of herself in these trying times… It is 1939 and working class Evie Bishop has received a scholarship to study mathematics at Oxford when tragedy turns her life upside down. Evie must seek a new future for herself and, inspired to contribute to the war effort, joins the Women’s Auxiliary Air Force as an Ops Room plotter. Posted to a fighter station on the Sussex Coast, Evie befriends two other WAAFs – shy, awkward May and flirty, glamorous Jess. Faced with earning the approval of strict officers and finding their way in a male dominated world, the three girls band together to overcome challenges, navigate new romances and keep their pilots safe in the skies. But the German bombers seem to know more than they should about the base’s operations, and soon Evie, May and Jess are caught up in a world more dangerous than they ever imagined… This heartwarming, dramatic World War II saga is perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Rosie Clarke. Praise for The Ops Room Girls ‘A fabulous tale of courage, comradeship and romance.’ Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan ‘A lovely book. Vicki Beeby is a saga author to watch.’ Margaret Dickinson, Sunday Times Top Ten bestselling author 'Full of excitement, energy and romance, this story kept me turning the pages eagerly.' Lesley Eames, author of The Brighton Guest House Girls 'An exceptional historical saga about young women forging new paths in an uncertain world at war... rich with historical detail, and a must read for historical fiction fans.' Andie Newton, author of The Girl I Left Behind 'An utter joy to read, from the first page to the last. I would not hesitate to recommend this book to anyone with a liking for strong characters, a taste for danger, and a deeply romantic soul.' Terri Nixon, author of Penhaligon's Gift ‘Entertaining from beginning to end. I can’t recommend it highly enough.’ Gemma Jackson, bestselling author of the Ivy Rose series

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

When Evie’s dreams come crashing down, she’s determined to still make something of herself in these trying times…

It is 1939 and working class Evie Bishop has received a scholarship to study mathematics at Oxford when tragedy turns her life upside down. Evie must seek a new future for herself and, inspired to contribute to the war effort, joins the Women’s Auxiliary Air Force as an Ops Room plotter.

Posted to a fighter station on the Sussex Coast, Evie befriends two other WAAFs – shy, awkward May and flirty, glamorous Jess. Faced with earning the approval of strict officers and finding their way in a male dominated world, the three girls band together to overcome challenges, navigate new romances and keep their pilots safe in the skies.

But the German bombers seem to know more than they should about the base’s operations, and soon Evie, May and Jess are caught up in a world more dangerous than they ever imagined…

This heartwarming, dramatic World War II saga is perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Rosie Clarke.

Praise for The Ops Room Girls

‘A fabulous tale of courage, comradeship and romance.’ Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan

‘A lovely book. Vicki Beeby is a saga author to watch.’ Margaret Dickinson, Sunday Times Top Ten bestselling author

'Full of excitement, energy and romance, this story kept me turning the pages eagerly.' Lesley Eames, author of The Brighton Guest House Girls

'An exceptional historical saga about young women forging new paths in an uncertain world at war... rich with historical detail, and a must read for historical fiction fans.' Andie Newton, author of The Girl I Left Behind

'An utter joy to read, from the first page to the last. I would not hesitate to recommend this book to anyone with a liking for strong characters, a taste for danger, and a deeply romantic soul.' Terri Nixon, author of Penhaligon's Gift

‘Entertaining from beginning to end. I can’t recommend it highly enough.’ Gemma Jackson, bestselling author of the Ivy Rose series

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Vicki Beeby

Author Bio: Vicki Beeby

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 10.62
Audience: Adult
Language: English