The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles audiobook

The Paris Library: A Novel

By Janet Skeslien Charles
Read by Nicky Diss , Sarah Feathers , Esther Wane , and Janet Skeslien Charles

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781982134198
11.89 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781797105000

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781797104997

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife. Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal. Montana, 1983: Lily is a lonely teenager looking for adventure in small-town Montana. Her interest is piqued by her solitary, elderly neighbor. As Lily uncovers more about her neighbor’s mysterious past, she finds that they share a love of language, the same longings, and the same intense jealousy, never suspecting that a dark secret from the past connects them. A powerful novel that explores the consequences of our choices and the relationships that make us who we are—family, friends, and favorite authors—The Paris Library shows that extraordinary heroism can sometimes be found in the quietest of places.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

New York Times bestseller

An Amazon Editor’s Top Pick

A February 2021 LibraryReads Pick

A Library Journal Pick of Most Anticipated Books of 2021

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal.

Montana, 1983: Lily is a lonely teenager looking for adventure in small-town Montana. Her interest is piqued by her solitary, elderly neighbor. As Lily uncovers more about her neighbor’s mysterious past, she finds that they share a love of language, the same longings, and the same intense jealousy, never suspecting that a dark secret from the past connects them.

A powerful novel that explores the consequences of our choices and the relationships that make us who we are—family, friends, and favorite authors—The Paris Library shows that extraordinary heroism can sometimes be found in the quietest of places.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Delightful…richly detailed.” Publishers Weekly
“A love letter to Paris, the power of books, and the beauty of intergenerational friendship.” Booklist
“Intelligent and sensuously rich….A novel tailor-made for those who cherish books and libraries.” Kirkus Reviews
“What makes The Paris Library such a tender read is Charles’s firsthand experience… Her meticulous research brings these figures to life.” BookPage

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Janet Skeslien Charles

Author Bio: Janet Skeslien Charles

Janet Skeslien Charles is the award-winning author of Moonlight in Odessa and The Paris Library. She first became interested in the incredible true story of the librarians who stood up to the Nazi “Book Protector” when she worked as the program’s manager at the American Library in Paris. Her shorter work has appeared in revues such as Slice and Montana Noir. Visit her at JSkeslienCharles.com or connect with her on Twitter @skesliencharles.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 11.89
Audience: Adult
Language: English