The Pirate’s Coin by Marianne Malone audiobook

The Pirate’s Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure

By Marianne Malone
Read by Cassandra Campbell

Listening Library (Audio)

The Sixty-Eight Rooms Series: Book 3

5.20 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $18.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780804121613

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love the third The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure—a perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series, and just right for readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck. Sixth Graders Ruthie and Jack return to the Art Institute of Chicago's magical Thorne Rooms. During a school presentation, Ruthie and Jack discover that their classmate Kendra is descended from Phoebe Monroe, the young slave they befriended when they traveled to 19th-century South Carolina. Kendra tells them that long ago her family lost their good name and their business selling herbal remedies when mobsters accused them of stealing the recipes! Only Ruthie and Jack know the truth--because only they know about the secret ledger that Phoebe wrote the recipes in long ago! Ruthie and Jack's mission to clear Kendra's name takes them back to the Thorne Rooms, where a mysterious old coin leads them to 1753 Cape Cod and to Jack's own ancestor . . . the pirate Jack Norfleet! But playing with history can be dangerous! Suddenly, Jack's very existence is in jeopardy! Can Ruthie and Jack find the proof they need to help Kendra? And can they fix the past and save Jack's future . . . before it's too late? Here's What People Are Saying about The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures! The New York Times: "Irresistible." Chicago Sun-Times: "Exhilarating." Chicago Tribune: "Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love the third The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure—a perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series, and just right for readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck. Sixth Graders Ruthie and Jack return to the Art Institute of Chicago's magical Thorne Rooms. During a school presentation, Ruthie and Jack discover that their classmate Kendra is descended from Phoebe Monroe, the young slave they befriended when they traveled to 19th-century South Carolina. Kendra tells them that long ago her family lost their good name and their business selling herbal remedies when mobsters accused them of stealing the recipes! Only Ruthie and Jack know the truth--because only they know about the secret ledger that Phoebe wrote the recipes in long ago! Ruthie and Jack's mission to clear Kendra's name takes them back to the Thorne Rooms, where a mysterious old coin leads them to 1753 Cape Cod and to Jack's own ancestor . . . the pirate Jack Norfleet! But playing with history can be dangerous! Suddenly, Jack's very existence is in jeopardy! Can Ruthie and Jack find the proof they need to help Kendra? And can they fix the past and save Jack's future . . . before it's too late?

Here's What People Are Saying about The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures!
The New York Times:
"Irresistible."

Chicago Sun-Times:
"Exhilarating."

Chicago Tribune:
"Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."


Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure series blends multiple topics of fascination to many a reader: miniaturization (think The Borrowers), time travel (think the Magic Tree House), mystery (think Hardy Boys), and secretly trawling a museum behind the scenes (think From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler)...Intriguing. Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Marianne Malone

Author Bio: Marianne Malone

Marianne Malone is the author of The Sixty-Eight Rooms series. She is also the cofounder of the Campus School Middle School for Girls in Urbana, Illinois. She and her husband divide their time between Urbana and Washington, DC. 

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 5.20
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English