The Poppy War by R. F. Kuang audiobook

The Poppy War: A Novel

By R. F. Kuang
Read by Emily Woo Zeller

HarperAudio, HarperCollins 9780062662569

The Poppy War Series: Book 1

18.96 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $36.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062848789

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $55.99

    ISBN: 9781538519080

  • $55.99

    ISBN: 9781538519097

An AudioFile Magazine Best Audiobook of 2018! A Library Journal, Paste Magazine, and ENTROPY Best Books of 2018 pick! Washington Post "5 Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Novel of 2018" pick! A Bustle "30 Best Fiction Books of 2018" pick! “I have no doubt this will end up being the best fantasy debut of the year [...] I have absolutely no doubt that [Kuang’s] name will be up there with the likes of Robin Hobb and N.K. Jemisin.” -- Booknest A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China’s twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu’s Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy. When Rin aced the Keju—the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies—it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn’t believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin’s guardians, who believed they’d finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegard—the most elite military school in Nikan—was even more surprising. But surprises aren’t always good. Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the south is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly power—an aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much alive—and that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school. For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away . . . Rin’s shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity . . . and that it may already be too late.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Finalist for the 2019 World Fantasy Award for Best Novel

Nominated for the 2018 Nebula Award for Best Novel

An Amazon Best Book of the Month

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

A Kirkus Reviews Pick of the Month

An AudioFile Magazine Best Audiobook of 2018!

A Library Journal, Paste Magazine, and ENTROPY Best Books of 2018 pick!

Washington Post "5 Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Novel of 2018" pick!

A Bustle "30 Best Fiction Books of 2018" pick!

“I have no doubt this will end up being the best fantasy debut of the year [...] I have absolutely no doubt that [Kuang’s] name will be up there with the likes of Robin Hobb and N.K. Jemisin.” -- Booknest

A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China’s twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu’s Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy.

When Rin aced the Keju—the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies—it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn’t believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin’s guardians, who believed they’d finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegard—the most elite military school in Nikan—was even more surprising.

But surprises aren’t always good.

Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the south is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly power—an aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much alive—and that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school.

For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away . . .

Rin’s shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity . . . and that it may already be too late.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The ‘year’s best debut’ buzz around this one was warranted; it really is that good.” B&N Sci-fi and Fantasy Blog
“[A] strikingly grim military fantasy that summons readers into an East Asian–inspired world of battles, opium, gods, and monsters. Fans of Ken Liu’s The Grace of Kings will snap this one up.” Library Journal (starred review)
“Emily Woo Zeller expertly narrates a coming-of-age story that develops into a brutal war saga…Zeller brings skilled nuance to the multiple facets of Rin, shifting subtly from a young woman determined to escape an unwanted marriage to a brilliant student scorned by her snobbish classmates and to a desperate soldier fighting to stay alive. The supporting cast of students, masters, generals, and gods is similarly well portrayed…The story may be dark, but Zeller’s voice shines. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“Kuang creates an ambitious fantasy reimagining of Asian history populated by martial artists, philosopher-generals, and gods…A strong and dramatic launch to Kuang’s career.” Publishers Weekly
“In The Poppy War, R. F. Kuang draws on history and myth to tell a relentlessly unforgiving story of war, vengeance, power, and madness, with larger-than-life characters that evoke sympathy and rouse terror. Brace yourself.” Fonda Lee, author of The Green Bone Saga
“A thrilling, action-packed fantasy of gods and mythology…The ambitious heroine’s rise from poverty to ruthless military commander makes for a gripping read, and I eagerly await the next installment.” Julie C. Dao, author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns
“A blistering, powerful epic of war and revenge that will captivate you to the bitter end.” Kameron Hurley, author of The Stars Are Legion

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: R. F. Kuang

Author Bio: R. F. Kuang

R. F. Kuang is the author of the Poppy War fantasy fiction series and was a finalist for the Astrounding Award for Best New Writer. She immigrated to the United States from Guangzhou, China, in 2000 and studies Asian history at Georgetown University. She graduated from Odyssey Writing Workshop in 2016.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 18.96
Audience: Adult
Language: English