The Power of Chowa by Akemi Tanaka audiobook

The Power of Chowa: Finding Your Inner Strength Through the Japanese Concept of Balance and Harmony

By Akemi Tanaka
Read by June Angela

HarperAudio, HarperCollins 9780063007482
6.64 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780063007505

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • Regular Price: $29.99

    Special Price $15.00

    ISBN: 9781094161969

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $20.00

    ISBN: 9781094161976

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

For fans of Hygge and Lagom comes this inspiring guide that introduces the Japanese wisdom of chowa—the search for balance—to help us find harmony and peace in every area of our lives. The Japanese wisdom of chowa offers a fresh approach to being, showing us how to create space and symmetry at work, at home, and in our relationships. Chowa is an ancient philosophy and set of practices that enable us to discover what matters most in our individual lives, and help us transform our way of thinking about ourselves and others. By harnessing the power of chowa, we can learn to ignore the ephemera, focus on the important things, and cultivate a steady state of equilibrium and calm that gives us the confidence and fortitude to handle any challenge we may face. Following the practical steps in this empowering book, we can better balance our priorities and relationships and find inner strength and flexibility in times of change and stress. With The Power of Chowa, curious seekers can achieve wellness, happiness, and contentment every day.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For fans of Hygge and Lagom comes this inspiring guide that introduces the Japanese wisdom of chowa—the search for balance—to help us find harmony and peace in every area of our lives.

The Japanese wisdom of chowa offers a fresh approach to being, showing us how to create space and symmetry at work, at home, and in our relationships. Chowa is an ancient philosophy and set of practices that enable us to discover what matters most in our individual lives, and help us transform our way of thinking about ourselves and others.

By harnessing the power of chowa, we can learn to ignore the ephemera, focus on the important things, and cultivate a steady state of equilibrium and calm that gives us the confidence and fortitude to handle any challenge we may face. Following the practical steps in this empowering book, we can better balance our priorities and relationships and find inner strength and flexibility in times of change and stress.

With The Power of Chowa, curious seekers can achieve wellness, happiness, and contentment every day.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“June Angela narrates softly at an appropriate pace. Her tone sounds optimistic. Tanaka expertly describes the influence of chowa in Japan, making the audiobook a delightful way to learn about aspects of Japanese culture and history. Some of the most harmonious passages occur when Angela slips easily between speaking English and Japanese. Whether discussing food and fashion, workplace etiquette, or why Hello Kitty doesn’t have a mouth, Tanaka reveals chowa to be the philosophical scaffolding behind life in Japan.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Akemi Tanaka

Author Bio: Akemi Tanaka

Akemi Tanaka is descended from a family of samurai who fought alongside the fifteenth-century warrior-poet Ota Dokan. She grew up in Japan, but now lives in London with her English husband. Akemi is an established cultural communicator on Japan, regularly leading cultural study tours back to her homeland, and giving presentations at schools, universities, and cultural centers. Akemi founded the charity Aid For Japan and was recently given an award by the British government in recognition of her charity work for the orphans of the 2011 tsunami. She is also an expert in tea ceremony, for which she dresses in high traditional costume, and demonstrates this ancient art as a master class in mindfulness and gratitude.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction/Self-Help
Runtime: 6.64
Audience: Adult
Language: English