The Queen's Accomplice by Susan Elia MacNeal audiobook

The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery

By Susan Elia MacNeal
Read by Susan Duerden

Penguin Random House, Random House Audio

The Maggie Hope Mysteries: Book 6

10.61 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780735285125

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster, as the New York Times bestselling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues. England, 1942. The Nazis’ relentless Blitz may have paused, but London’s nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper’s crimes. What’s more, he’s targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill’s spies and saboteurs abroad. The officers at MI-5 quickly realize they need the help of special agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed “the Blackout Beast.” A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate. Praise for The Queen’s Accomplice Maggie is a thoughtful spy whose dangerous escapades never disappoint.”Kirkus Reviews “A fine historical mystery given a feminist slant.”Booklist “Plausible and elegant . . . Like all MacNeal’s novels, this one ends on a cliffhanger that will leave readers eagerly awaiting Maggie’s next adventure.”Shelf Awareness “Works as a suspenseful stand-alone . . . interesting and informative . . . wartime London is vividly portrayed . . . recommended for those who like their historical mysteries with a large dose of suspense.”Historical Novel Society “For those who are Maggie Hope diehards, this latest in the series is sure to satisfy.”Reviewing the Evidence “MacNeal’s meticulous research shines through on every page, and pays off with a wartime atmosphere that feels real.”Crimespree Magazine

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster, as the New York Times bestselling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.

England, 1942. The Nazis’ relentless Blitz may have paused, but London’s nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper’s crimes. What’s more, he’s targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill’s spies and saboteurs abroad. The officers at MI-5 quickly realize they need the help of special agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed “the Blackout Beast.” A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate.

Praise for The Queen’s Accomplice

Maggie is a thoughtful spy whose dangerous escapades never disappoint.”Kirkus Reviews

“A fine historical mystery given a feminist slant.”Booklist

“Plausible and elegant . . . Like all MacNeal’s novels, this one ends on a cliffhanger that will leave readers eagerly awaiting Maggie’s next adventure.”Shelf Awareness

“Works as a suspenseful stand-alone . . . interesting and informative . . . wartime London is vividly portrayed . . . recommended for those who like their historical mysteries with a large dose of suspense.”Historical Novel Society

“For those who are Maggie Hope diehards, this latest in the series is sure to satisfy.”Reviewing the Evidence

“MacNeal’s meticulous research shines through on every page, and pays off with a wartime atmosphere that feels real.”Crimespree Magazine

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Works as a suspenseful stand-alone . . . interesting and informative . . . wartime London is vividly portrayed . . . recommended for those who like their historical mysteries with a large dose of suspense. Historical Novel Society
Plausible and elegant . . . Like all MacNeal’s novels, this one ends on a cliffhanger that will leave readers eagerly awaiting Maggie’s next adventure. Shelf Awareness
For those who are Maggie Hope diehards, this latest in the series is sure to satisfy. Reviewing the Evidence
MacNeal’s meticulous research shines through on every page, and pays off with a wartime atmosphere that feels real. Crimespree MagazinePraise for the Maggie Hope series  
You’ll be [Maggie Hope’s] loyal subject, ready to follow her wherever she goes. O: The Oprah Magazine
A fine historical mystery given a feminist slant. Booklist
“Maggie is a thoughtful spy whose dangerous escapades never disappoint. Kirkus Reviews
“MacNeal delivers a realistic portrait of the now war-weary city recovering from the Blitz and still determined to persevere against the German war machine. The grisly nature of the murders and the shocking conclusion are just what Maggie’s fans expect from their favorite secret agent.” RT Book Reviews (4 stars)
“Echoes of classic crime meet international espionage in MacNeal’s accomplished sixth WWII mystery…MacNeal’s engaging characters, vivid scene-setting, moments of romance, and rich historical detail offer plenty to enjoy.” Publishers Weekly
“With the indomitable Maggie serving as bait for the Beast and then taking off to pursue dangling story lines, this is a fine historical mystery given a feminist slant.” Booklist
“An accomplished young woman fights hate and misogyny in World War II Britain…Maggie is a thoughtful spy whose dangerous escapades never disappoint.” Kirkus Reviews
Narrator Susan Duerden artfully depicts wartime Britain and the indomitable Maggie Hope…Vivid descriptions of the countryside and Nazi atrocities evoke a you-are-there feel in the ever-changing setting. Duerden’s best creation is gutsy eighty-five-year-old air raid warden Vera Baines…Good portraits of “K” the cat and a belligerent drunk, along with Hope’s thoughts, add to the listening pleasure. The wonderful conclusion features a commanding Queen Mother.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Susan Elia MacNeal

Author Bio: Susan Elia MacNeal

Susan Elia MacNeal is the author of the Maggie Hope mysteries, including Mr. Churchill’s Secretary, Princess Elizabeth’s Spy, and His Majesty’s Hope. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and child.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 10.61
Audience: Adult
Language: English