The Ramblers by Aidan Donnelley Rowley audiobook

The Ramblers: A Novel

By Aidan Donnelley Rowley
Read by Erica Sullivan

HarperCollins, HarperAudio 9780062413314
11.39 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $24.99

    Special Price $12.50

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062445018

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $23.99

    ISBN: 9781504695398

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City. Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan—the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village—The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley’s sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled. Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York’s wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams. Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City—an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan—the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village—The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley’s sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York’s wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City—an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

The Ramblers follows a trio of well-hewn characters who find themselves at the complicated crossroads of love and heartache, past and future, loss and renewal. Chock full of the crackling wit, irreverent humor, and raw honesty that readers have come to expect from Aidan Donnelley Rowley, this is a tale of beautiful people in glamorous places when life is anything but beautiful and glamorous. A whirlwind foray into the New York City that Aidan Donnelley Rowley knows and loves—and writes—so well.” Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author
“A wonderfully woven story of how family can hold us back or set us free. The richly drawn characters in The Ramblers remind the reader that we sometimes fear the things we most want. Aidan Donnelley Rowley’s finely-honed prose creates a New York story that had me enchanted at the first flirtation. It’s not often that a book embeds you so deeply with the characters that you feel as if you are in their story. Rowley’s finely drawn story of love, loss, fear, and friendship wound me around its little finger.” Lee Woodruff, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Aidan Donnelley Rowley

Author Bio: Aidan Donnelley Rowley

Aidan Donnelley Rowley is a graduate of Yale University and Columbia Law School, but her dream (long unconscious) had always been to write. She is the author of the novel Life after Yes, contributes to the Huffington Post, and is the founder and curator of the popular Happier Hours Literary Salons. She lives in New York City with her family.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 11.39
Audience: Adult
Language: English