The Raven Tower by Ann Leckie audiobook

The Raven Tower

By Ann Leckie
Read by Adjoa Andoh

Orbit, Hachette Book Group 9780316388696
12.04 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781549115790

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $40.00

    ISBN: 9781549178610

Gods meddle in the fates of men, men play with the fates of gods, and a pretender must be cast down from the throne in this masterful first fantasy novel from Ann Leckie, New York Times bestselling author and winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Awards. "It's a delight to read something so different, so wonderful and strange."-Patrick Rothfuss "Absolutely wonderful...utterly brilliant."-The New York Times Book Review For centuries, the kingdom of Iraden has been protected by the god known as the Raven. He watches over his territory from atop a tower in the powerful port of Vastai. His will is enacted through the Raven's Lease, a human ruler chosen by the god himself. His magic is sustained by the blood sacrifice that every Lease must offer. And under the Raven's watch, the city flourishes. But the Raven's tower holds a secret. Its foundations conceal a dark history that has been waiting to reveal itself...and to set in motion a chain of events that could destroy Iraden forever. For more from Ann Leckie, check out: Ancillary Justice Ancillary Sword Ancillary Mercy Provenance

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice

An Amazon Best Book of the Month in Science Fiction

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

Gods meddle in the fates of men, men play with the fates of gods, and a pretender must be cast down from the throne in this masterful first fantasy novel from Ann Leckie, New York Times bestselling author and winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Awards.


"It's a delight to read something so different, so wonderful and strange."-Patrick Rothfuss


"Absolutely wonderful...utterly brilliant."-The New York Times Book Review


For centuries, the kingdom of Iraden has been protected by the god known as the Raven.


He watches over his territory from atop a tower in the powerful port of Vastai. His will is enacted through the Raven's Lease, a human ruler chosen by the god himself. His magic is sustained by the blood sacrifice that every Lease must offer. And under the Raven's watch, the city flourishes.


But the Raven's tower holds a secret. Its foundations conceal a dark history that has been waiting to reveal itself...and to set in motion a chain of events that could destroy Iraden forever.


For more from Ann Leckie, check out:

Ancillary Justice

Ancillary Sword

Ancillary Mercy


Provenance


Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Award-winner Leckie proves as adept at worldbuilding as ever-the setting and characters of The Raven Tower are as rich as any we encountered in Imperial Radch space-but it is the mode of narration that truly distinguishes her first novel-length foray into fantasy. Much like Hamlet, from which The Raven Tower draws clear inspiration, Leckie's is a story filled with complicated, very human people, as well as the forces that move around them, guiding them ever so slightly toward choices both good and bad. B&N SciFi and Fantasy Blog
Sharp, many layered, and, as always for Leckie, deeply intelligent. Kirkus (starred review)
Leckie has an ear for language, an eye for character and a gift for creating new worlds and cultures... [her] examination of power, politics and governance is fascinating and well-conceived. St. Louis Post-Dispatch
The Raven Tower is an enormously compelling novel. It may draw inspiration from Hamlet, but...it reweaves the fabric of Shakespeare's play into cloth of a different color entirely. Leckie's worldbuilding is deep and thorough, showing us the edges of a broad, rich, complicated world, and her characters are fascinating. Tor.com
Leckie has created an enthralling and well-realized fantasy world, full of not only magic and gods but also characters representing a broad spectrum of gender and sexuality. Highly recommended for...anyone looking for exciting and boundary-pushing fantasy. Booklist (starred review)
Earthsea's elegance meets Sanderson's clever magic in this talon-sharp saga of divinity and revenge. Ann Leckie is unstoppable. Seth Dickinson
A gripping story that's one part mystery, one part a new history of the world, The Raven Tower is an incredible fantasy, told by one of the most unique voices I've had the privilege of reading. S. A. Chakraborty
The Raven Tower is a unique, intricate fantasy set in a fascinating world of gods who are at once formidable and vulnerable. Original and powerful -- I loved it. Highly recommended for fans of N. K. Jemisin or Guy Gavriel Kay. Django Wexler
Absolutely wonderful. The god's voice is mesmerizing, tender and careful....feels closer to the register of folk tale than epic, and is all the more riveting for that. New York Times Book Review
Leckie's tale takes on a mythic, metafictional quality...and the story's elements weave into a stunning conclusion. This impressive piece of craftsmanship cements Leckie's place as a powerful voice in both SF and fantasy. Publishers Weekly (starred review)
I've been reading fantasy my whole life. After all these years, it's a delight to read something so different, so wonderful and strange. Patrick Rothfuss
A powerhouse epic of humans and gods at war, deeply imagined and profoundly thrilling. There are echoes of Shakespeare and Le Guin in The Raven Tower, but its strange dark brilliance could only have come from Ann Leckie. Lev Grossman
“A powerhouse epic of humans and gods at war, deeply imagined and profoundly thrilling…[with] echoes of Shakespeare and Le Guin.” Lev Grossman, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“A wonderful exploration of gods, mortals, and divinity. It’s as if Hamlet were told from the point of view of Elsinore Castle addressing a mostly oblivious Horatio.” New York Times Book Review
“[Leckie’s] fantasy novel is packed with family intrigue, throne-room maneuvering, and nods to Hamlet…It’s deeply focused world-building.” NPR
“Narrator Adjoa Andoh lends diverse accents and impressive power to this compelling fantasy…Andoh’s skill with a dynamic range of voices will propel listeners through the tales of powerful gods, complex political machinations, and revenge. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“Highly recommended for…anyone looking for exciting and boundary-pushing fantasy.” Booklist (starred review)
“This impressive piece of craftsmanship cements Leckie’s place as a powerful voice in both SF and fantasy.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

by wubster 3/4/2019
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

interesting worldbuilding

good story in an interesting world.

Author

Author Bio: Ann Leckie

Author Bio: Ann Leckie Ann Leckie is the author of the Hugo, Nebula, Arthur C. Clarke, and British Science Fiction Award-winning novel Ancillary Justice, and its Locus Award-winning sequel Ancillary Sword. Ann has worked as a waitress, a receptionist, a rodman on a land-surveying crew, and a recording engineer. She lives in St. Louis, Missouri.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 12.04
Audience: Adult
Language: English