The Secret Women by Sheila Williams audiobook

The Secret Women: A Novel

By Sheila Williams
Read by Zakiya Young

HarperAudio, HarperCollins 9780062934222
7.54 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780063005143

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • Regular Price: $29.99

    Special Price $15.00

    ISBN: 9781094160580

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $20.00

    ISBN: 9781094160597

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

The author of Dancing on the Edge of the Roof, now a Netflix film starring Alfre Woodard, returns with a riveting, emotionally rich, novel that explores the complex relationship between mothers and daughters in a fresh, vibrant way—a stunning page-turner for fans of Terry McMillan, Tayari Jones, and Kimberla Lawson Roby.  Elise Armstrong, Carmen Bradshaw, and DeeDee Davis meet in a yoga class. Though vastly different, these women discover they all have one thing in common: their mothers have recently passed away. Becoming fast friends, the trio make a pact to help each other sort through the belongings their mothers’ left behind. But when they find old letters and diaries, Elise, Carmen, and DeeDee are astonished to learn that each of their mothers hid secrets—secrets that will transform their own lives. Meeting each month over margaritas, the trio share laughter, advice, and support. As they help each other overcome challenges and celebrate successes, Elise, Carmen, and DeeDee gain not only a better understanding of the women their mothers were, but of themselves. They also come to realize they have what their mothers needed most but did not have during difficult times—other women they could trust. Filled with poignant life lessons, The Secret Women pays tribute to the power of friendship and family and the bonds that tie us together. Beautiful, full of spirit and heart, it is a thoughtful and ultimately uplifting story of unconditional love.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Time Magazine Pick of Best Beach Reads

A Parade Magazine Pick for Summer

A Pop Sugar Pick of Beach Reads

The author of Dancing on the Edge of the Roof, now a Netflix film starring Alfre Woodard, returns with a riveting, emotionally rich, novel that explores the complex relationship between mothers and daughters in a fresh, vibrant way—a stunning page-turner for fans of Terry McMillan, Tayari Jones, and Kimberla Lawson Roby.

 Elise Armstrong, Carmen Bradshaw, and DeeDee Davis meet in a yoga class. Though vastly different, these women discover they all have one thing in common: their mothers have recently passed away. Becoming fast friends, the trio make a pact to help each other sort through the belongings their mothers’ left behind. But when they find old letters and diaries, Elise, Carmen, and DeeDee are astonished to learn that each of their mothers hid secrets—secrets that will transform their own lives.

Meeting each month over margaritas, the trio share laughter, advice, and support. As they help each other overcome challenges and celebrate successes, Elise, Carmen, and DeeDee gain not only a better understanding of the women their mothers were, but of themselves. They also come to realize they have what their mothers needed most but did not have during difficult times—other women they could trust.

Filled with poignant life lessons, The Secret Women pays tribute to the power of friendship and family and the bonds that tie us together. Beautiful, full of spirit and heart, it is a thoughtful and ultimately uplifting story of unconditional love.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“[A] big-hearted, authentic portrayal of both friendship among middle-aged women and the mother-daughter bond.”  Booklist
“A moving examination of the complexities of motherhood and the strength of female friendship.” Kirkus Reviews
“Zakiya Young skillfully provides an entertaining performance of this audiobook, capturing the personalities of each of its characters…Young brings the three protagonists to life and smoothly portrays the rest of the characters. The listener can easily imagine each scene. Even pacing and volume keep the story flowing. An enjoyable production that listeners won’t want to put down.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Sheila Williams

Author Bio: Sheila Williams

Sheila Williams is the author of several books. She attended Ohio Wesleyan University and is a graduate of the University of Louisville.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Women
Runtime: 7.54
Audience: Adult
Language: English