The Stolen Child: A Novel

By Lisa Carey
Read by Caroline Lennon

12.77 Hours 02/07/2017 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $27.99

    Special Price $22.39

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062669759

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781470827083

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781470828387

From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants’ lives and tangled relationships—perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid’s Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island’s natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to—until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle’s cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She’s seeking a secret holy well that’s rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities—or perhaps because of them—Emer fears that she won’t be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer’s. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters’ lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants’ lives and tangled relationships—perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter.

May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid’s Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island’s natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to—until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle’s cottage.

Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She’s seeking a secret holy well that’s rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities—or perhaps because of them—Emer fears that she won’t be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer’s. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters’ lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Narrator Caroline Lennon’s voice instills a dreamlike quality into her portrayals…Lennon shifts with ease between the lyrical cadences of the locals and Brigid’s more languid American accent. Her perfect delivery of vocabulary that is specific to the west coast of Ireland complements the story.” AudioFile
“There is magic realism of a fine order in this book, and it works…Carey has a great ear for the Irish vernacular, the music of the speech; and the domestic scenes and exchanges are excellent.” Guardian (London)
“Has all the right ingredients for a good yarn: a windswept island, a jealous twin, and a woman in search of a miracle.” Good Housekeeping (UK)
“An enchanting, razor-edged exploration of desire, belonging, motherhood, and the bonds between family.” Irish Independent
“Vividly and soulfully described, love and curses, roiling in a supernatural stew…Magical realism of the best kind, utterly devoid of whimsy.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Returning to the magic found in Carey’s The Mermaids Singing, her newest release will enchant readers.” Library Journal
“A mesmerizing tale about motherhood, superstition, betrayal, and the porous boundary between the real and the magical.” Booklist
“Steeped in dark Irish mythology, The Stolen Child is a piercing exploration of regret and desire, longing and love.” Ayelet Waldman, author of Love and Treasure
“A gorgeously written book about female bonds and the ferocious pull of motherhood. Compelling, eerie, and beautiful.” Nuala O’Connor, author of Miss Emily
“Some books set up house inside your soul. The Stolen Child is one such book. Utterly magnificent.” M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with All the Gifts

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lisa Carey

Lisa Carey is the author of four novels, including the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing and Every Visible Thing, which won a Lambda Literary Award for Fiction.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 12.77
Audience: Adult
Language: English