The Storm by Arif Anwar audiobook

The Storm: A Novel

By Arif Anwar
Read by Soneela Nankani  and Vikas Adam

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781501174506
9.86 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781508257585

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781508264538

In the tradition of Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance, a sweeping historical novel that seamlessly interweaves five love stories spanning fifty years of Bangladeshi history. Time is running out for Shahryar. His work visa has expired and he may soon be forced out of the United States and back to his home country of Bangladesh. Clinging to the remaining weeks he has left with his young American daughter, Shar reflects upon his family’s history, beginning in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman, Jamir, and his wife, Honufa, prepare to face a storm of historic proportions. Spilling across tense, crucial moments in history, Jamir and Honufa’s story intersects with other lives, like that of Ichiro, a Japanese pilot fighting in a war he does not understand; Claire, a British doctor in danger during the anti-colonialist Burmese rebellions; and Rahim and Zahira, a privileged couple in Calcutta uprooted to East Pakistan by the Partition of India. With a narrative sweep mirroring the storm’s devastating path—leading to the eye’s calamitous landing—The Storm explores hope, loss, sacrifice, and the many ways in which families honor, betray, and ultimately love one another.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

In the tradition of Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance, a sweeping historical novel that seamlessly interweaves five love stories spanning fifty years of Bangladeshi history.

Time is running out for Shahryar. His work visa has expired and he may soon be forced out of the United States and back to his home country of Bangladesh. Clinging to the remaining weeks he has left with his young American daughter, Shar reflects upon his family’s history, beginning in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman, Jamir, and his wife, Honufa, prepare to face a storm of historic proportions.

Spilling across tense, crucial moments in history, Jamir and Honufa’s story intersects with other lives, like that of Ichiro, a Japanese pilot fighting in a war he does not understand; Claire, a British doctor in danger during the anti-colonialist Burmese rebellions; and Rahim and Zahira, a privileged couple in Calcutta uprooted to East Pakistan by the Partition of India.

With a narrative sweep mirroring the storm’s devastating path—leading to the eye’s calamitous landing—The Storm explores hope, loss, sacrifice, and the many ways in which families honor, betray, and ultimately love one another.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Ultimately a celebration of family and the sustaining power of love. With a sprawling cast of vividly drawn characters…this powerful and important debut is a story for our time.” Library Journal (starred review)
“In crystalline prose, Anwar tells stories that span continents and decades as his characters interconnect…A remarkable debut, in which fiction vividly portrays specific events in history.” Booklist (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Arif Anwar

Author Bio: Arif Anwar

Arif Anwar was born in Chittagong, Bangladesh, just miles from the Bay of Bengal. He has previously worked for BRAC, one of the world’s largest NGOs, on issues of poverty alleviation, and for UNICEF Myanmar on public health issues. He has a PhD in Education from the University of Toronto and currently lives in Toronto, Canada, with his wife Si (Sandra) Lian. The Storm is his first novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 9.86
Audience: Adult
Language: English