The Storyteller of Marrakesh by Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya audiobook

The Storyteller of Marrakesh

By Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya
Read by Gerard Kyle

Dreamscape 9780393070583
10.27 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $29.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781611200447

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Each year, the storyteller, Hassan, gathers listeners to the city square to share their recollections of a young, foreign couple who mysteriously disappeared years earlier. As various witnesses describe their encounters with the couple, Hassan hopes to light upon the details that will explain what happened to them, and to absolve his own brother, who is in prison for their disappearance. But is this annual storytelling ritual a genuine attempt to uncover the truth, or is it intended instead to weave and ambiguous mythology around a crime? The first in an ambitious cycle of novels set in the Islamic world, The Storyteller of Marrakesh is an elegant exploration of the nature of reality and our shifting perceptions of truth.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Selected for the February 2011 Indie Next List

Each year, the storyteller, Hassan, gathers listeners to the city square to share their recollections of a young, foreign couple who mysteriously disappeared years earlier. As various witnesses describe their encounters with the couple, Hassan hopes to light upon the details that will explain what happened to them, and to absolve his own brother, who is in prison for their disappearance. But is this annual storytelling ritual a genuine attempt to uncover the truth, or is it intended instead to weave and ambiguous mythology around a crime? The first in an ambitious cycle of novels set in the Islamic world, The Storyteller of Marrakesh is an elegant exploration of the nature of reality and our shifting perceptions of truth.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A multilayered novel that juxtaposes the artistry of narration with a collision of cultures in the Jemaa…Lyrical.” Richmond Examiner
“A broad, discursive, plausible, and often beguiling presentation of a contemporary Islamic culture little changed by centuries, geopolitics, globalization or religious enmity. Roy-Battacharya’s descriptive powers are acute, and Marrakesh, the Djemaa, the Sahara, and the High Atlas Mountains are vividly rendered through all the senses. In a time when tensions between Islam and the West are fevered, The Storyteller of Marrakesh offers an agreeable change of pace.” Booklist
“An enigmatic fable in the tradition of The Thousand and One Nights…[Roy-Bhattacharya] has clearly immersed himself in the richness of Moroccan life and history. It makes a lively home for his questing imagination.” New York Times Book Review

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya

Author Bio: Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya was born in Jamshedpur, India, and educated in politics and philosophy at Calcutta University and the University of Pennsylvania. His novels have been published in fourteen languages in eighteen countries. He lives in upstate New York.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 10.27
Audience: Adult
Language: English