The Ten-Cent Boy and the Brooklyn Dime by W. DeLaney audiobook

The Ten-Cent Boy and the Brooklyn Dime

By W. DeLaney
Read by Gabrielle de Cuir

Skyboat Media 9781622875412
7.01 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $16.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781504670685

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781504670661

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781504670715

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781504670708

Blanche Bianco, a fifteen-year-old girl, reluctantly transfers to a high school 250 miles north of Brooklyn, where her mother was educated. Her parents are concerned about her slipping grades and problems with drugs, arrests, and pregnancy at her Brooklyn school. Beautiful in a flashy sort of way and with a Brooklyn accent, she thinks she’s an outcast. Then she meets Ken, a student athlete of unexpected quality but limited means because of a broken home. Blanche doesn’t treat Ken differently just because he is poor, and they quickly forge a strong relationship—one that cracks when Blanche returns to Brooklyn High School of the Arts for her senior year before enrolling at the Brooklyn College of Performing Arts. Ken gets a lacrosse scholarship to Maritime College in the Bronx with Blanche’s help and tries to maintain contact with her, but their relationship is severed when Blanche transfers to Pace University and subsequently gets a movie contract requiring she go to Los Angeles. The only viable link between them lies with Blanche’s parents. Having not seen each other for three years, Ken and Blanche meet in the summer and spend five days together. But when Blanche is engaged to a Hollywood producer as a publicity stunt, she becomes concerned that Ken will do something violent.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Blanche Bianco, a fifteen-year-old girl, reluctantly transfers to a high school 250 miles north of Brooklyn, where her mother was educated. Her parents are concerned about her slipping grades and problems with drugs, arrests, and pregnancy at her Brooklyn school. Beautiful in a flashy sort of way and with a Brooklyn accent, she thinks she’s an outcast. Then she meets Ken, a student athlete of unexpected quality but limited means because of a broken home.

Blanche doesn’t treat Ken differently just because he is poor, and they quickly forge a strong relationship—one that cracks when Blanche returns to Brooklyn High School of the Arts for her senior year before enrolling at the Brooklyn College of Performing Arts. Ken gets a lacrosse scholarship to Maritime College in the Bronx with Blanche’s help and tries to maintain contact with her, but their relationship is severed when Blanche transfers to Pace University and subsequently gets a movie contract requiring she go to Los Angeles. The only viable link between them lies with Blanche’s parents.

Having not seen each other for three years, Ken and Blanche meet in the summer and spend five days together. But when Blanche is engaged to a Hollywood producer as a publicity stunt, she becomes concerned that Ken will do something violent.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"‘Brooklyn Dime’ is slang for a girl who is a perfect ten, a knockout, as William Delaney reveals in the author’s note in his debut The Ten-Cent Boy and the Brooklyn Dime…The title hints at the uneven match between the central pair…The course of their on-again, off-again relationship echoes classic love stories…Ken is an appealing main character…[and] Delaney successfully imitates the Brooklyn accent and nineties teen-speak, throwing in some enjoyable one-liners…The novel works well as a canny examination of relationships…By appropriating the classic themes of chastened female sexuality and delayed romantic gratification, Delaney makes subtle allusions to Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations and Jane Austen’s Emma. This solid teen novel should appeal to fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.” Clarion Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: W. DeLaney

Author Bio: W. DeLaney

W. DeLaney is a retired ophthalmologist living in upstate New York. The Ten-Cent Boy and the Brooklyn Dime is his first novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 7.01
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English