The Tragedy Paper by Elizabeth LaBan audiobook

The Tragedy Paper

By Elizabeth Laban
Read by Nick Chamian and Jesse Bernstein

Listening Library (Audio) 9780375870408
8.11 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $22.00
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9780804122009

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska, Jennifer Weiner, #1 New York Times bestselling author, calls Elizabeth LaBan’s The Tragedy Paper “a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak.”  It follows the story of Tim Macbeth, a seventeen-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is “Enter here to be and find a friend.” A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants—he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed. Yet, despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential “It” girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving’s most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out. Tim and Vanessa begin a clandestine romance, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving’s version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school’s least forgiving teacher.   Jumping between viewpoints of the love-struck Tim and Duncan, a current senior about to uncover the truth of Tim and Vanessa, The Tragedy Paper is a compelling tale of forbidden love and the lengths people will go to keep their secrets.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska, Jennifer Weiner, #1 New York Times bestselling author, calls Elizabeth LaBan’s The Tragedy Paper “a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak.”  It follows the story of Tim Macbeth, a seventeen-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is “Enter here to be and find a friend.” A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants—he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed. Yet, despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential “It” girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving’s most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out. Tim and Vanessa begin a clandestine romance, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving’s version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school’s least forgiving teacher.   Jumping between viewpoints of the love-struck Tim and Duncan, a current senior about to uncover the truth of Tim and Vanessa, The Tragedy Paper is a compelling tale of forbidden love and the lengths people will go to keep their secrets.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak.” Jennifer Weiner, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“LaBan’s debut—reminiscent of Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why—compassionately illustrates the tragedy of withholding love and friendship, or worse, never having the courage to seek them out.” Entertainment Weekly
“This novel is relatable and unusually gripping—LaBan’s take on adolescent life is rendered in the sweet, intelligent tradition of John Irving, but without any of the prep-school genre’s self-satisfaction.” Philadelphia Inquirer
“A playful element infuses the story as tragic themes described in English class play out in the characters’ dramas, adding texture to this strong debut.”  Publishers Weekly
“Strong plotting and characterization make Tim and Vanessa come to life for readers as much as for Duncan, whose understanding of tragedy becomes almost overwhelmingly acute.” School Library Journal
“The individual stories…are meaty enough to keep readers pushing through to the very end.” VOYA
“Nonexistent parents, well-intentioned, likeable faculty on the periphery, elaborate dorm rooms with overstuffed closets, even the romantic, snow-covered campus all contribute to a setting that adds to the story’s heft and intrigue.” Booklist (starred review)
“An engaging tale told by a boy rendered an outsider by his appearance, full of passion and almost unrequited love, signifying the heartbreaks and melodramas of high school.” Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Elizabeth LaBan

Author Bio: Elizabeth LaBan

Elizabeth LaBan worked at NBC News, taught at a community college, and has written for several magazines and newspapers. She is the author of the young adult novel, The Tragedy Paper.She lives in Philadelphia with her family. 

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 8.11
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English