The Wild Inside by Christine Carbo audiobook

The Wild Inside: A Novel of Suspense

By Christine Carbo
Read by R. C. Bray

Blackstone Publishing 9781476775456

The Glacier Mystery Series: Book 1

13.02 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $22.95

    Special Price $9.99

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781504619950

  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781504619936

  • Regular Price: $39.95

    Special Price $25.97

    ISBN: 9781504619981

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781504619974

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

For fans of Louise Penny, C. J. Box, and Nevada Barr comes a haunting crime novel set in Glacier National Park, where one man finds himself on a collision course with the dark heart of the wild and the even darker heart of human nature. It was a clear, starry night in Glacier National Park. Fourteen-year-old Ted Systead and his father were camping peacefully beneath the rugged peaks and sweeping sky when the unimaginable happened: Ted’s father was mauled by a grizzly bear and dragged to his death. Now, twenty years later, as special agent for the Department of the Interior, Ted is called back to investigate a crime that echoes the horror of that night. Only this time, the victim was tied to a tree before the animal’s attack. Ted teams up with one of the park officers—a man named Monty, whose pleasant exterior masks an all-too-vivid knowledge of the area. Residents of the nearby community are less than forthcoming. Suspicious of outsiders and intimately connected to the wilderness that surrounds them, they confront their fellow man and nature with equal measures of reverence and brutality. As the days pass with no clear answers, not only is human life at stake, so too is that of a majestic creature who carries with it valuable evidence. Ted’s search for truth takes him far into the wilderness, on the trail of a killer, and eventually to a shocking and unexpectedly personal conclusion. Rich in atmosphere and evocative, lush descriptions, The Wild Inside is a gripping debut novel about the wondrously perilous intersection between man and nature.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Finalist for the 2016 High Plains Book Award 

One of Audible’s Best Audiobooks of the Week in Mysteries and Thrillers

For fans of Louise Penny, C. J. Box, and Nevada Barr comes a haunting crime novel set in Glacier National Park, where one man finds himself on a collision course with the dark heart of the wild and the even darker heart of human nature.

It was a clear, starry night in Glacier National Park. Fourteen-year-old Ted Systead and his father were camping peacefully beneath the rugged peaks and sweeping sky when the unimaginable happened: Ted’s father was mauled by a grizzly bear and dragged to his death.

Now, twenty years later, as special agent for the Department of the Interior, Ted is called back to investigate a crime that echoes the horror of that night. Only this time, the victim was tied to a tree before the animal’s attack. Ted teams up with one of the park officers—a man named Monty, whose pleasant exterior masks an all-too-vivid knowledge of the area. Residents of the nearby community are less than forthcoming. Suspicious of outsiders and intimately connected to the wilderness that surrounds them, they confront their fellow man and nature with equal measures of reverence and brutality. As the days pass with no clear answers, not only is human life at stake, so too is that of a majestic creature who carries with it valuable evidence. Ted’s search for truth takes him far into the wilderness, on the trail of a killer, and eventually to a shocking and unexpectedly personal conclusion.

Rich in atmosphere and evocative, lush descriptions, The Wild Inside is a gripping debut novel about the wondrously perilous intersection between man and nature.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Prepare to run the gamut of emotions with this fine treat of a story. Then, in the years ahead, be on the lookout for more from this fresh new voice in the thriller genre.” Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author
“An intense and thoroughly enjoyable thrill ride…a tour de force of suspense.” Linda Castillo, New York Times bestselling author
“[A] tense, atmospheric thriller with its majestic Glacier National Park setting…a stunning debut!” Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author
“If the key to a mystery’s success is keeping the reader guessing, The Wild Inside is a fine example of the genre.” Billings Gazette (Montana)
“Carbo’s provocative debut…paints a moving picture of complex, flawed people fighting to make their way in a wilderness where little is black or white, except the smoky chiaroscuro of the sweeping Montana sky.” Publishers Weekly
“Sharp, introspective Systead is a strong series lead…in this dark foray into the wilderness subgenre.” Booklist
“With precision and authority, R. C. Bray narrates this intense, haunting story…Carbo describes the great beauty of Glacier in such detail that listeners will smell and feel the crisp mountain air and visualize the power and brutality of nature…Bray maintains a consistent pace and fluid expressiveness with the fast-moving plot and well-crafted characters.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

by Paul (AudiobookReviewer) 9/13/2017
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

it does not come across as a debut novel

When I was first asked if I'd like to listen to this audio book, my first instinct was to say no. It just didn't look like my type of book to be honest. However, I was asked because Paul knows I'm a fan of R.C. Bray's (the narrator for this audio book) work and I said yes because Bray hasn't let me down yet. I have to say I was completely surprised, not only because it is good but because of how engrossed I became in the story. I wanted to know what had happened, who was responsible.

Ted Systead works as a Special Agent for the Department of the Interior and is called to Glacier National Park to investigate a mauling by a bear, although the circumstances are strange as the victim was tied to a tree. This causes issues for Ted who really doesn't want to be back at Glacier Park and sure doesn't want the constant reminders of his past but he has a job to do, so he fights his demons while trying to solve the crime and save the bear. Along the way we meet some nice and downright horrible people, it is very well written, for parts of the book Ted is remembering, I call them his 'flashback' moments but they never take you out of the story, they blend in perfectly.

As I was looking at other reviews just to get a feel for the book, I came across something interesting, this is Christine Carbo's debut novel, say again? Let me tell you it does not come across that way, at all. I spent over half the listening time trying to guess who it was...it must be this guy, no, I've changed my mind, it's that guy. The actual reveal felt like a punch in the gut, I had to hit pause to shout at my device 'NO!!! You're wrong!! That is not how things were supposed to play out' if I have a reaction like that it means the author definitely did something right. I have a very short list of favourite books I've read or listened to this year and this audio book has now joined that list.

R.C. Bray delivers another solid performance. The transition between the different characters was seamless, I never had any issues following who was speaking or what was happening, even in the 'flashback' moments, it flowed smoothly. Bray has a talent for grabbing the reader and dragging them along for the ride....something that the listener is happy to do. The production was wonderful with no issues at all.

Author

Author Bio: Christine Carbo

Author Bio: Christine Carbo

Christine Carbo grew up in Gainesville, Florida, until she moved to Kalispell, Montana, when she was twelve. After earning a pilot’s license, pursuing various adventures in Norway, and a brief stint as a flight attendant, she got an MA in English and linguistics and taught writing, linguistics, and literature courses at a community college. She still teaches, in a vastly different realm, as the owner of a Pilates studio. She and her husband live in Whitefish, Montana, with their three kids, one incredibly silly dog, and one very self-possessed cat.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 13.02
Audience: Adult
Language: English