The Year I Flew Away by Marie Arnold audiobook

The Year I Flew Away

By Marie Arnold
Read by Marie Arnold

HarperAudio, HarperAudio, HarperAudio, Clarion Books 9780358272755
6.61 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780358438694

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $29.99

    ISBN: 9798212048460

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781664783713

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

In this magical middle grade novel, ten-year-old Gabrielle finds out that America isn’t the perfect place she imagined when she moves from Haiti to Brooklyn. With the help of a clever witch, Gabrielle becomes the perfect American—but will she lose herself in the process? It’s 1985, and ten-year-old Gabrielle is excited to be moving from Haiti to America. Unfortunately, her parents won’t be able to join her yet and she’ll be living in a place called Brooklyn, New York, with relatives she has never met. She promises her parents that she will behave, but life proves to be difficult in the United States, from learning the language to always feeling like she doesn’t fit in to being bullied. So when a witch offers her a chance to speak English perfectly and be “American,” she makes the deal. But soon she realizes how much she has given up by trying to fit in and, along with her two new friends (one of them a talking rat), takes on the witch in an epic battle to try to reverse the spell.  Gabrielle is a funny and engaging heroine you won’t soon forget in this sweet and lyrical novel that’s perfect for fans of Hurricane Child and Front Desk.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

An Amazon Editor’s Top Pick

In this magical middle grade novel, ten-year-old Gabrielle finds out that America isn’t the perfect place she imagined when she moves from Haiti to Brooklyn. With the help of a clever witch, Gabrielle becomes the perfect American—but will she lose herself in the process?

It’s 1985, and ten-year-old Gabrielle is excited to be moving from Haiti to America. Unfortunately, her parents won’t be able to join her yet and she’ll be living in a place called Brooklyn, New York, with relatives she has never met.

She promises her parents that she will behave, but life proves to be difficult in the United States, from learning the language to always feeling like she doesn’t fit in to being bullied. So when a witch offers her a chance to speak English perfectly and be “American,” she makes the deal.

But soon she realizes how much she has given up by trying to fit in and, along with her two new friends (one of them a talking rat), takes on the witch in an epic battle to try to reverse the spell. 

Gabrielle is a funny and engaging heroine you won’t soon forget in this sweet and lyrical novel that’s perfect for fans of Hurricane Child and Front Desk.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This refreshing middle-grade story offers a ‘new kid’ narrative that defines the heart of what it means to be American in today’s world.” Booklist (starred review)
“Arnold skillfully fuses distinct immigrant experiences with the supernatural to express a universally felt desire for belonging…A fantastical take on immigrant narratives.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Author and narrator Marie Arnold shines in this enchanting audiobook based on her childhood…Fast-paced, passionate, and spellbinding, both the writing and narration of this story are magical…This heartfelt story is timeless and full of teachable moments about empathy, honesty, and social and racial equality.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Marie Arnold

Author Bio: Marie Arnold

Marie Arnold was born in Port-Au-Prince, Haiti and came to America at the age of seven. She grew up in Brooklyn, New York alongside her extended family. Marie enjoys creating stories full of adventure, and wonder, which center on girls of color. When she’s not writing, she’s adding to her insanely long Netflix cue and trying not to order pizza.She lives in Los Angeles.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 6.61
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English