This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab audiobook

This Savage Song

By Victoria Schwab
Read by Thérèse Plummer

The Monsters of Verity Series: Book 1

10.15 Hours 07/05/2016 Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062468116

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781504736282

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781504736299

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor. Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The pacing is fast, the narrative enthralling, but it is the depths of the novel—its acuteness of moral imagination and perception—that will stay with you…My highest recommendation.” San Diego Union-Tribune
“A darkly precise narrative that feels like a shiver down the spine.” Booklist (starred review)
“Readers looking for a dangerous and engrossing new world to fall into will find it with this fast-paced, frightening read.” Publishers Weekly
“A postapocalyptic urban fantasy with a Romeo and Juliet theme…Kate and August both undergo an impressive amount of character development, and fans will like them despite their flaws.” School Library Journal
“Explores the natures of justice and humanity in an assuredly built world with compelling settings.” Horn Book
“The world is fascinating…the characters complicated, and the political machinations and emotional depths both charged and compelling…Crackling with energy.” Kirkus Reviews
“Therese Plummer’s charged narration brings to life this fantasy tale of dread and terror…Whether voicing defiant Kate or introspective August, Plummer projects an element of fear, reminding listeners that the truce between the two parts of the city is fragile—and that monsters lurk around every corner. As the action of the audiobook speeds up, Plummer matches her pacing to keep listeners engaged through every violent turn of events.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Victoria Schwab

Author Bio: Victoria Schwab

Victoria Schwab is the acclaimed author of several novels for young adults and adults, including The Archived and Vicious.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 10.15
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English