This Time Will Be Different by Misa Sugiura audiobook

This Time Will Be Different

By Misa Sugiura
Read by Joy Osmanski

HarperCollins 9780062473448
9.39 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062914286

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781982662905

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781982662912

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon, critically acclaimed author Misa Sugiura delivers a richly crafted contemporary YA novel about family, community, and the importance of writing your own history. The author of the Asian Pacific American Award-winning It’s Not Like It’s a Secret is back with another smartly drawn coming-of-age novel that weaves riveting family drama, surprising humor, and delightful romance into a story that will draw you in from the very first page. Katsuyamas never quit—but seventeen-year-old CJ doesn’t even know where to start. She’s never lived up to her mom’s type A ambition, and she’s perfectly happy just helping her aunt, Hannah, at their family’s flower shop. She doesn’t buy into Hannah’s romantic ideas about flowers and their hidden meanings, but when it comes to arranging the perfect bouquet, CJ discovers a knack she never knew she had. A skill she might even be proud of. Then her mom decides to sell the shop—to the family who swindled CJ’s grandparents when thousands of Japanese Americans were sent to internment camps during WWII. Soon a rift threatens to splinter CJ’s family, friends, and their entire Northern California community; and for the first time, CJ has found something she wants to fight for.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

Kirkus Reviews Best Book

For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon, critically acclaimed author Misa Sugiura delivers a richly crafted contemporary YA novel about family, community, and the importance of writing your own history.

The author of the Asian Pacific American Award-winning It’s Not Like It’s a Secret is back with another smartly drawn coming-of-age novel that weaves riveting family drama, surprising humor, and delightful romance into a story that will draw you in from the very first page.

Katsuyamas never quit—but seventeen-year-old CJ doesn’t even know where to start. She’s never lived up to her mom’s type A ambition, and she’s perfectly happy just helping her aunt, Hannah, at their family’s flower shop.

She doesn’t buy into Hannah’s romantic ideas about flowers and their hidden meanings, but when it comes to arranging the perfect bouquet, CJ discovers a knack she never knew she had. A skill she might even be proud of.

Then her mom decides to sell the shop—to the family who swindled CJ’s grandparents when thousands of Japanese Americans were sent to internment camps during WWII. Soon a rift threatens to splinter CJ’s family, friends, and their entire Northern California community; and for the first time, CJ has found something she wants to fight for.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Insightful. Intricate. Honest…Richly drawn characters that feel utterly real.” Samira Ahmed, New York Times bestselling author
“Fresh, vibrant, affecting, and powerful.” New York Times Book Review
“Narrator Joy Osmanski delivers the sarcasm of 17-year-old CJ…[and] voices CJ’s lack of self-love, rigid thinking, and then, gradually, her emerging emotions of tenderness, compassion, and self-acceptance…Osmanski conveys wit and authentic feelings that keep listeners from feeling the story is too problem driven. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“Sugiura deftly weaves historical fact into this coming-of-age narrative…An entertaining and informative backdrop that allows CJ to explore her own sense of identity while giving readers a front seat to her process.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Sugiura’s sophomore novel deftly questions accountability for past injustices…Sugiura tackles an abundance of topics with finesse, including social and economic injustice, allyship, and feminism, simultaneously breaking down the Asian-American immigration narrative and the myth of the model minority…Essential.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“A gripping, emotionally charged story that presents an interesting window into a uniquely Japanese American experience that deserves attention” School Library Journal (starred review)
“Sugiura’s deep dive into mother-daughter relationships, the fragility of self-worth, and the gathering of courage resonates deeply.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Misa Sugiura

Author Bio: Misa Sugiura

Misa Sugiura’s ancestors include a poet, a priestess, a samurai, and a stowaway. She grew up in Northfield, Illinois, (which is less rural than it sounds) and went to college on the East Coast. She lived in Japan for three years before moving to Silicon Valley and becoming a high school English teacher. During her years in the classroom, she met the many wonderful Asian, Latinx, and LGBTQ students who inspired her to write It’s Not Like It’s a Secret. Misa lives under a giant oak tree with her husband, two sons, two cats, and a gray-banded king snake.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 9.39
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English