Those People by Louise Candlish audiobook

Those People

By Louise Candlish
Read by Katharine McEwan , with various narrators

Penguin Audio
10.23 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $22.50
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781984890603

From the author of the international bestseller Our House, a new novel of twisty domestic suspense asks, “Could you hate your neighbor enough to plot to kill him?”  Lowland Way is the suburban dream. The houses are beautiful, the neighbors get along, and the kids play together on weekends.  But when Darren and Jodie move into the house on the corner, they donʼt follow the rules. They blast music at all hours, begin an unsightly renovation, and run a used-car business from their yard. It doesn’t take long for an all-out war to start brewing. Then, early one Saturday, a horrific death shocks the street. As police search for witnesses, accusations start flying—and everyone has something to hide. Narrated by Katharine McEwan with Jonathan Cowley, Jayne Entwistle, Andrew Fallaize, Paul Fox, Billie JD Porter, and Moira Quirk

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

From the author of the international bestseller Our House, a new novel of twisty domestic suspense asks, “Could you hate your neighbor enough to plot to kill him?”  Lowland Way is the suburban dream. The houses are beautiful, the neighbors get along, and the kids play together on weekends.  But when Darren and Jodie move into the house on the corner, they donʼt follow the rules. They blast music at all hours, begin an unsightly renovation, and run a used-car business from their yard. It doesn’t take long for an all-out war to start brewing. Then, early one Saturday, a horrific death shocks the street. As police search for witnesses, accusations start flying—and everyone has something to hide. Narrated by Katharine McEwan with Jonathan Cowley, Jayne Entwistle, Andrew Fallaize, Paul Fox, Billie JD Porter, and Moira Quirk

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

An artfully plotted, affecting page-turner…a truly killer climax. Publishers Weekly(starred review)
[A] superb thriller...the ending Candlish has devised is devastating. The Washington Post
Nail-biting from the first line to the very end, Our House plunges the reader into one family's terrifyingly plausible nightmare, and twists the knife right up to the very final page. Ruth Ware#1 New York Times bestselling author of The Death of Mrs. Westaway
Candlish is skilled at portraying families in critical situations and ramping up the suspense...An absorbing plot with surprising twists until the final page. Library Journal (starred review)
[A] twisty domestic thriller that features everything readers enjoy about the genre: dark secrets, unreliable narrators, a fast-moving plot, and a terrifyingly plausible premise. This could be summer’s breakout hit. Booklist (starred review)
The last line will make you literally shout with shock. Good Housekeeping
[A] masterfully plotted, compulsive page-turner. The Guardian
I loved the wonderful hook of Our House, which plays with our modern obsession with property—and the vulnerability that exposes. Louise Candlish is a great writer; she inhaled me into her nightmarish world where everything we think we know is ripped from under our feet. Fiona Barton, New York Times bestselling author of The Widow
Those People skewers middle-class NIMBYism with elegance and acid. Sharp satire and a plot that builds to a roiling boil with a couple of oh-so-clever final twists in close succession. Sarah Vaughan, author of the international bestseller Anatomy of a Scandal
“Prepare to be gripped; Those People is nail-bitingly tense from the first page to the last. Louise Candlish shows us the dark side of suburbia--and of ourselves. Erin Kelly, author of the international bestseller He Said/She Said
Beautifully modulated and terrifically suspenseful. The Washington Post
Highly entertaining….Candlish forcefully builds the tension in Those People until it reaches a crescendo that is as frightening as it is believable….Candlish knows how to turn everyday situations sinister. Associated Press
A twisted, murderous thriller that should resonate deeply with anyone who's ever despised a loud neighbor. PopSugar
[A] disturbing novel of domestic suspense. With a structure reminiscent of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies….A nicely paced, wryly intelligent novel with sharp insights into human behavior. Kirkus Reviews
“An addictive, twisty page-turner about the neighbors from hell that will give you nightmares about the suburban dream. Alice Feeney, New York Times bestselling author of Sometimes I Lie
“[An] intricately plotted yet fast-paced storyline. This fiendishly twisty and suspenseful tale of secrets, lies, jealousy, and intrigue keeps readers guessing until the very end. Fans of Celeste Ng and Leila Slimani will be pleased with this contemporary take on families and violence. Booklist
“[A] riveting story of a tight-knit…community driven to desperate measures by a neighbor from hell….a dark whodunit…[an] exciting thriller. Shelf Awareness
Those People is one of 'those' thrillers you quite literally cannot put down. Cosmopolitan

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Louise Candlish

Author Bio: Louise Candlish

Louise Candlish studied English at University College, London, and worked as an editor and copywriter before writing fiction. Some of her bestselling novels include Since I Don’t Have You and The Day You Saved My Life. Though her stories are about people with complicated lives and dark dilemmas, Candlish tries to live her own life without drama, in South London, with her husband and daughter.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 10.23
Audience: Adult
Language: English