Travel Team by Mike Lupica audiobook

Travel Team

By Mike Lupica
Read by Oliver Wyman

Listening Library (Audio) 9780399241505

The Danny Walker Series: Book 1

7.11 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $17.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780307281654

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Twelve-year-old Danny Walker knows something the coaches don’t: You can’t measure heart. Danny Walker may be the smallest kid on the basketball court, but don’t tell him that. Because no one plays with a bigger love of the game. Or a better sense of how to hit the open player with the perfect pass. Which is why his world shatters when he is cut from the local travel team for being too small. Not just any travel team, either–the very same one his father had led to the national championship on ESPN when he was a kid. Turns out Danny wasn’t the only kid cut for the wrong reasons. And Danny’s father is about to give them all a second chance–something he could use himself. After washing out of the NBA, Richie Walker washed out of life, too. But together, these castoffs prove something Danny knew all along: You can’t measure heart. In the tradition of The Bad News Bears and Hoosiers, author, nationally syndicated sportswriter, and ESPN personality Mike Lupica delivers a rousing tale of the underdog that will leave you cheering to the final word.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times bestseller

Twelve-year-old Danny Walker knows something the coaches don’t: You can’t measure heart. Danny Walker may be the smallest kid on the basketball court, but don’t tell him that. Because no one plays with a bigger love of the game. Or a better sense of how to hit the open player with the perfect pass. Which is why his world shatters when he is cut from the local travel team for being too small. Not just any travel team, either–the very same one his father had led to the national championship on ESPN when he was a kid. Turns out Danny wasn’t the only kid cut for the wrong reasons. And Danny’s father is about to give them all a second chance–something he could use himself. After washing out of the NBA, Richie Walker washed out of life, too. But together, these castoffs prove something Danny knew all along: You can’t measure heart. In the tradition of The Bad News Bears and Hoosiers, author, nationally syndicated sportswriter, and ESPN personality Mike Lupica delivers a rousing tale of the underdog that will leave you cheering to the final word.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Lupica has penned a basketball novel as exciting as any Hollywood sports film.” Barnes & Noble, editorial review
Lupica . . . sets the scene for on-court action, and delivers play-by-play descriptions . . . that will thrill basketball buffs. Genuinely affecting. Publishers Weekly
In a story every bit as exciting and tear-jerking as any novel or movie in its genre – Hoosiers, Mighty Ducks, The Bad News Bears – Danny gets his chance at glory. Lupica . . . has the knowledge of the game and the lean prose to make this a taut, realistic story not just about the game but about heart, character, and family. A winner. Kirkus Reviews
“A taut, realistic story not just about the game but about heart, character, and family. A winner.” Kirkus Reviews
“Even non-sports fans will find themselves rooting for Danny’s underdog team and will be caught up in the realistic descriptions of their games.” School Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Mike Lupica

Author Bio: Mike Lupica

Mike Lupica is a New York Times bestselling author of several books for young readers. He has carved out a niche as the sporting world’s finest storyteller. His column in the New York Daily News is syndicated nationally. He lives in Connecticut with his wife and their four children.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 7.11
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English