Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly audiobook

Trouble Makes a Comeback

By  Stephanie Tromly
Read by Kathleen McInerney

Listening Library (Audio) 9780525428411

The Trouble Series: Book 2

7.94 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.00
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9780451485977

A whip-smart, screwball noir mystery with snappy prose, wry humor, and breakneck dialogue—this sequel to Trouble Is a Friend of Mine is perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, Sherlock, John Hughes, and Carl Hiassen. After a fall semester of fiascoes: getting arrested, then kidnapped, then blown up in an explosion (all thanks to the weird but brilliant Philip Digby), Zoe Webster is looking forward to a quiet spring. Now that Digby has left town, she’s finally built a regular high school life for herself. She’s dating Austin, the alternate QB; she knows girls she considers friends; she’s learning to enjoy being normal and semi-popular. Which of course is when Digby comes back: He’s got a new lead on his missing sister and he needs Zoe’s help. Suddenly Zoe is tussling with a billionaire arch-villain, locking horns with armed goons, and digging into what makes the Digby family tick, even as she tries to navigate the confusing and emotionally fraught world of high school politics and locker-room drama. After all, it’s hard to explain Digby to a boy like Austin, especially when Zoe isn’t sure how she feels about Digby herself—or how he feels about her. Now that Digby’s back, get ready for another hilarious whodunit filled with razor-sharp dialogue, ridiculously funny action, and the most charismatic, dynamic duo you’ve ever met. And just try to stay out of trouble. We dare you.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A whip-smart, screwball noir mystery with snappy prose, wry humor, and breakneck dialogue—this sequel to Trouble Is a Friend of Mine is perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, Sherlock, John Hughes, and Carl Hiassen.

After a fall semester of fiascoes: getting arrested, then kidnapped, then blown up in an explosion (all thanks to the weird but brilliant Philip Digby), Zoe Webster is looking forward to a quiet spring. Now that Digby has left town, she’s finally built a regular high school life for herself. She’s dating Austin, the alternate QB; she knows girls she considers friends; she’s learning to enjoy being normal and semi-popular. Which of course is when Digby comes back: He’s got a new lead on his missing sister and he needs Zoe’s help.

Suddenly Zoe is tussling with a billionaire arch-villain, locking horns with armed goons, and digging into what makes the Digby family tick, even as she tries to navigate the confusing and emotionally fraught world of high school politics and locker-room drama. After all, it’s hard to explain Digby to a boy like Austin, especially when Zoe isn’t sure how she feels about Digby herself—or how he feels about her.

Now that Digby’s back, get ready for another hilarious whodunit filled with razor-sharp dialogue, ridiculously funny action, and the most charismatic, dynamic duo you’ve ever met. And just try to stay out of trouble. We dare you.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Narrator Kathleen McInerney is also back, bringing the same verve and charm to her performance that she delivered in this series’ debut, Trouble Is a Friend of Mine. Listeners will find themselves equally engaged in the fate of Digby’s missing sister and in Zoe’s struggle to balance her new boyfriend, Austin, with her old feelings for Digby. Witty dialogue and a cast of characters—from a high school queen bee to Zoe’s overbearing dad—are brought to life with aplomb by McInerney.” AudioFile
“The author bounces her characters off one another in spectacular ways, crafting drama, suspense, love, and exasperation with ease…The characters come in to their own, darting in and out of mischief and mayhem at dizzying speeds and trading verbal jabs along the way….The characters are so rich and the dialogue is so much fun…An effective and largely entertaining romp.” Kirkus Reviews
“This action-packed read will appeal to boys and girls who like the dark underbelly of organized crime. There are just enough normal teenage antics to make the story somewhat relatable and just enough scheming to make the story exciting.” VOYA

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Stephanie Tromly

Author Bio: Stephanie Tromly

Stephanie Tromly is the author of Trouble Is a Friend of Mine and other books for young adults. She was born in Manila, grew up in Hong Kong, graduated from the University of Pennsylvania, and worked as a screenwriter in Los Angeles.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 7.94
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English